stings

Several months ago I asked my cousin if she was still planning on going to Wayne State for college. She said yes and was already accepted. I told her to let me know when she moved into the dorms cause I’d help her. Wayne is maybe 70 miles max from me. Back in February she told me the specific move in day: Aug 17. I marked it on my calendar, asked for the day off from work.

Last night I sent her a message asking her what time she’d be in Wayne (for today). She said they were already on their way there, should be there 530 pm (as in last night). I was a bit surprised, but a small part of me thought they might show up in Wayne on the Thursday night. I told her I wasn’t sure if I’d make it to Wayne Thursday night, but asked what time I should be there Friday morning to help move.

She told me she had an early move in (late Thursday instead of Friday). And she should be good and wouldn’t need my help.

It’s all fine and dandy, but if you didn’t want me to help, just let me know in advance! Not waiting til I asked you about it! I mentioned to her in FEB I’d help her….she had 6 months to tell me she didn’t need it! I talked to her a few times in between

I was looking forward to helping her. My friend works at Wayne State so I could have seen him. I told him earlier this week I’d be in town. He said he wouldn’t have free time to do anything, but we could talk for a couple minutes.

I had sent my aunt a message saying I could help and let me know the specific time once the time got closer. She never said anything either. I’m ok with you telling me you don’t need help…….but to literally wait to tell me last minute (basically)…..and for me to have to ask my cousin.

I’ve had a lot of similar situations over the years like this. I’d have my hopes up to do something with people (friends, family, coworkers), then last minute they’d bail with a lie or just not tell me anything. It’s why I don’t have friends (just 3 and none live in this town), it’s why I don’t want to make friends. It’s why I don’t want to associate myself with people. No one can commit to their word with me, or no one really wants me around so they bail

Log in to write a note
August 18, 2018

Unfortunately, I know exactly what you’re saying.  I have these experiences a lot, as well. It’s hurtful and makes us feel badly.  But, the offenders don’t even bat an eyelash, and don’t seem to care? I am so sorry this happened to you. Are you going to work now, or stay home? Do something special for yourself you’re way worth it, and it doesn’t even have to cost money!! hugs.

August 18, 2018

@butterfly4him I ended up taking the day off anyway. Did some cleaning around the house and got a hair cut. If I would have known sooner, I would have went to work, at least for part of the day

August 18, 2018

@serenadeoliver : Okay, well, it’s okay, sounds like you were still productive! Have a great weekend!!