a real entry?

"but i thought you said…"

yeah yeah… i said private.  well, i have something i want to talk about really.  its more to get my thoughts in order and so i have somewhere to go to read over those thoughts (its also so i can get some ideas incase i’ve missed anything).

okay, so, here’s the rundown.

because of the last 4 months being so bad, i really fucked things up.  i missed the deadlines for auditioning for young artist programs, and i’ve already done my 2 here in Seattle.  basically after this program is done in April, and after two symphony gigs i have nothing left.  period.  which freaks me out a bit.  (there is a second reason involving a lack of money to get me to NYC for the auditions which contributed to the problem).

in the big pictures i’m still too young to start working on mainstages, not only that i still have alot of learning to do when it comes to being onstage and being able to do my own interpretation of a role.  so…  here is my proposal.

i don’t particularly want to go back to school for a master’s because i don’t want to have to do all the school work that comes with it (i.e. thesis paper and such).  now, some schools (mostly Music Conservatories) have a program called an Artist Diploma.  its basically everything in a master’s program (actually, closer to a PhD) without the paperwork and classes.  it would give me: drama, diction, voice, coachings, languages, roles etc.  plus, i have a good feeling that i could get a full scholarship to go to one of these programs.

i have not missed the times to audition for these programs which is why i’m looking into them.  i’m also looking into them (instead of a Young Artist Program) because if i don’t, i won’t be able to audition for them until next fall, which means i wouldn’t be in one until 2009.  and lets be honest, i’m on the cusp of being too old.

these are the programs i’m looking into (i’ve moved it up from 4 to 5).

(in no particular order)

  • Julliard Opera Center
  • Rice University
  • Cinncinati Conservatory of Music
  • University of Florida
  • University of Colorado

those five are really the only ones i wanna look into.  however, Florida might be cut because i can’t find as much about it. 

anyway… we’ll see what happens.  i’ve got some time to figure this out.  Colorado is high on the list because my dear friend Ashraf (who i’ve talked about before) lives in Boulder and he says i have a really really good chance to get a full scholarship PLUS money to live with (beyond the scholarship).  which makes me excited.

anyway, again, i’m going to try and leave.  have a good evening!  (or morning)

– noah

Log in to write a note
December 1, 2007

caught you on ODs main page. Good luck!

December 2, 2007

RYN: I’m much better today 🙂 Friday was yuck-tastic though. You should audition for those things while you can…aside from the training the connections you will make with other people will be invaluble and amazing.

December 2, 2007

*random passer by* Good luck!

December 2, 2007

Eee! It sounds like a good idea, and gives you something that’ll benefit you in the long run. =] Dooo ittt

December 2, 2007

RYN: Yeah, boys can be pretty awful. At least the ones I’ve met. It’s alright though, I suppose it’s the cost of associating with other. I’ll probably get over it someday. Thanks. :]

December 2, 2007

oh, how exciting Noah! I can’t wait to hear more about your application process.

December 2, 2007
December 2, 2007

Wow… Julliard…. Errr…. that’s all that I can think to say… my brain’s pretty much dead tonight. Blah.

December 2, 2007

Re: I think something about chilli was said. 🙂

December 2, 2007

hehehe Rice is a crazy place. *CRAZY* I tell you, but you would probably like it 😉

December 2, 2007

RYN: Feeling much better today, thanks… Good luck with the above!!! That’s very exciting! 🙂

December 2, 2007

WOOT! As soon as I stand up I will do a lil dance for you! Go for it!

December 3, 2007

That’s a really exciting chance! If you could make it another year and a half, I think it sounds pretty awesome. There are girls in my dental class who are quite far along in life, many 30+ and one even old enough to be my mother. Good luck researching. :)And a full scholarship!! I’m jealous of that aspect alone.

December 3, 2007

Mmmm that have some liberal traditions, but its great fun. They have a school tradition involving streaking. And several that include copious amounts of alcohol. Kinda wish I coulda gone 😉 They sent me all kinds of stuff in the mail to try and recruit me, but.. alas… no education program.

December 3, 2007

you can do this. Go for it. And if you can’t get info about Florida… call them. It’s even better to start calling these schools and letting them know your’re interested.

December 3, 2007

I was going through past notes… did you ever get to watch the Notebook? kristin.

December 5, 2007

Money issues really suck. I’m experiencing a lot of those at the moment, and I’m sorry it was a lack of funding that’s kept you from NY.

December 6, 2007

Rice was a school I looked into for UG once upon a time. I would have loved to gone to Colorado! It is so beautiful there. Just a random noter. Good luck on making a decision! =)