Imagine My Surprise

Night before last, I was laying in bed.  My mind was drifting in and out as I grasped hold of the thought that my journaling had all but come to a stop over the last year.  There was once a time when I would open my computer and pour out my thoughts in my Open Diary.  I enjoyed it. It gave me a chance to pour out my thoughts on to a virtual page.  I like revisiting those thoughts…mulling through my musings and seeing where I was a particular points in time.

Open Diary was once the place that housed those thoughts.  Tammi introduced me to the site.  This was back in the day of AOL and dial-up Internet.  I spent hours pouring out words onto the pages and developed friendships of others as they read my posts, and I read theirs.  All of this happened in my days before Facebook and social media.  I decided last evening that I wanted to skip down that road again and see what I could do with online journaling once again.

Imagine my surprise as I sorted through the various sites that are out there for what they now call “blogging.”  Right at the top was the new and improved OD.  I could even recover my old OD if I could remember my email and password. Well, crap…that is never going to happen.  I clicked on open a new account, and here I am.  I think I will hold court here for a little while and see if this is where I want to be…maybe drop a few thoughts or read the postings of others. I have the time, and I think the journey might be fun once more.

Log in to write a note
October 7, 2020

Me too!  I was on OD ages ago and found it to be so helpful. It’s definitely helpful to get out whatever is on my mind. People are not as judgemental, but more supportive. I have tried blogging several times between then and now and it is not the same. Blogging feels like there is some kind of standard to live up to whereas here it’s whatever.

I also forgot my username etc. I am not even sure what my email address was then. I may try to come up with something.

October 7, 2020

Welcome back! I’ve written here since 2000 minute the years OD was on hiatus. Nowhere else ever felt like here…. this is the perfect year to return to record keeping and processing craziness, yeah?

Look forward to reading more from you!

October 7, 2020

Welcome back! I also had a previous OD journal but I decided to just re-start with a brand new slate and leave the past “over there.” I will say it is nice to just write stuff down at times. 🙂

October 7, 2020

@myopicmistress I agree! Sometimes we just need to put our thoughts into words and let them rest on the page for a bit.

October 7, 2020

Welcome back! I tried a few other places when OD shut down, and even though some of my “favorites” were there it was just never the same.  Journaling fell by the wayside. I was able to reclaim my original diary.

October 8, 2020

I believe that if you give the Support folks the e-mail that was linked to your account and your name, you might not need to remember your password. They might ask a few choice questions about your diary, like someone you might’ve talked about or something, and they will ask for a new e-mail and then you can retrieve your old one. Give it a try, doesn’t hurt. And welcome back!