thoughts of a darkening mind

I don’t mean to freak anyone out by this entry…. this is probably going to sound very depressing and emotional and sad… I warn everyone in advance… read this with caution.

*

*

*

*

*

*

I went for a long walk tonight. I walked about 2 miles…. maybe more. It reminded me of high school. It reminded me of way back when…. back when I was so depressed, back when SI ruled my whole life, back when I was more or less suicidal. Scary. I loaded some new songs onto my iPod and off I went. I walked the tracks by my house. It brought back a flood of memories. I remember the last time I walked those tracks… hoping for a train to hit me. And it terrified me that while I was walking those tracks I half contemplated that. I didn’t know that I had slipped down that far over these past 4 months. I hadn’t even stopped to realize just how much I was really hurting inside. And as soon as I noticed I had just thought about how good or bad it would be to have a train hit me an ambulance drove by, lights flashing and sirens wailing. Sign? I would say so.

I kept walking… letting the music wash over me. I thought about cutting for a while. I remember how much better I always felt after I did. How much relief I felt…. like I could breathe again. I thought about going home and cutting. I haven’t cut once since March 1st and I thought about how disappointed people would be with me if I did. And then, more importantly, I realized that I would be disappointed with myself if I cut. I have come so far…. and yes I may be falling now, but I haven’t let myself fall that far… have I? My head has been hurting, pounding all weekend long. There is still this pressure in my chest that I can’t seem to get rid of. I walked until my legs were sore. I walked until I had walked off the urge to go home and break this almost 8 months of not cutting.

As I got back to the tracks to walk back home "Broken" came on my iPod. Just hearing the song filled me with a calm that I hadn’t felt all weekend. That song means so much to me now… it has a relaxing power over me and I can just step out of myself and breathe for a moment. A moment to forget about escaping this life that I can’t bare right now, a moment to look at myself and know that somewhere in me is the strength to go on. Sometimes I don’t know where I get that strength from. Sometimes I fear that if it weren’t for that mysterious strength I wouldn’t be here. I can think back to so many times while I was in high school that I thought I would be better off leaving this world and trying it all over again in another life. But yet and still…. here I am…. still wading through all of this and making my way through somehow. And as long as I cling to that somehow…. I will be ok……

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
October 21, 2007

Forever stuck in you the urge with be until happiness comes along…then just leaves again.

October 21, 2007

*hugs*

Hang in there. Are you on antidepressants? Have you tried them? Just a thought. So pleased you are holding onto that strength.

October 22, 2007

*HUGS* Girl you will get through this down time.You have alot of strength within you!

I wish that I could help you, but you wont even talk to me anymore, I don’t know if it’s because you hate me or if it’s because you just don’t want to talk to me. Please try not to do that to yourself though.

October 22, 2007

Keep fighting – youre a strong person and you will get through these feelings. Em

Be strong, sweetie. I know it may seem like it’s impossible, but you can make it through. *hugs*

October 22, 2007

*hugs* you’ll always think of cutting again, atleast one point in time. but i haven’t done it in almost three years [except for a few slipups], so i promise its worth it to yourself not to do it. <3

January 4, 2008

Sounds like you’ve a Guardian watching over you. I believe that is fortunate. My wife/slave also is a recovering cutter. She has gone about three years without cutting. And in the past few days she has not thought about it at all. Keep up the good work. I know you will do well.

January 6, 2008

Its hard, i always think about doing it when things get really bad. I have to try to find other methods of relieving the inner pain…its hard. I hope you manage to resist. x