Wish To Wash Away The Past

In the darkness where sleep should find me

another player creeps

this creature of darkness that won’t give me peace

it pulls at my eyelids and keeps me from sleep

the twists of my mind that hold me captive

refusing to relinquish me and let me be

memories combined with pain

futures that haunt me with what may never be

an ocean of tears that crashes down, washing me away

searching, desperately, for that one string that holds me to this Earth

before the waves carry me forever as everyone looks away

questioning if this is what I truely deserve

slipping away through their fingertips

drifting through the uncertainty and doubt

walking out into the air and hoping that I don’t fall

eyes closed tight, waiting to drop forever

into the night that never ends

eternity of despair that yearns to keep me

shall I give into it or fight

this question whispering to me in the night

as the sleep slips from me again

and the hours tick slowly by

its just another night

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
December 3, 2007

*hugs*