Learning.

I’ve spent the day learning some ASL. I have the alphabet down except I can’t remember Q at this time. I know hello, obviously! 🤣🤣 I know, I am learning ASL, thank you, you’re welcome, eat, obviously 🤣, and that’s it. I’m excited about this.  Seriously though, I learned the alphabet from a little girl, who’s awesome btw, on YouTube. I’m hoping she has more videos because she’s great. Wow 30 year old learning from a young child. I’m not ashamed though.

I have no shame left in me.

-Bitsy

Log in to write a note
August 19, 2018

I learned the alphabet and a few phrases from a card that was left on the table one night when my church was having a dinner.  I was around 9 or 10.  I learned to say, “Good morning, I’m happy to see you,” to some deaf ladies who rode our Sunday school bus.  I didn’t know that ASL doesn’t sign words like “to,” so I spelled it out for them.  😆

August 19, 2018

@oniongirl yeah! I guess there’s no sign for am in ASL? I’m still learning. First day. I’ve been wanting to learn for years but I think if I find something to keep me busy when I’m not at work or taking care of my son which is like two seconds of my free time 🤣🤣

Maybe it’ll help fight my obscene depression.

August 19, 2018

@snapshotmemories ah yes, depression.  I know a lot about that.  Sunlight helped me.  And audiobooks – usually feel-good stories, like Harry Potter or anything by Rick Riordan.

August 19, 2018

@oniongirl Ah yes, I think you mentioned that in my darkest entry yet. I’m so use to Facebook still that I mentally like people’s comments on here and forget to respond… 😬😬😞

August 19, 2018

@snapshotmemories I do that, too.  Plus, I’ve recently suffered a medical issue that has affected my memory so I never remember whom I’ve read and who is new to me.

August 19, 2018

Oh, and I think you’re right about no ASL for “am.”

September 5, 2018

i think that’s awesome you are being taught by a child. i learn from my daughter every day!