Shifting Focus

Life is moving forward at such an intense pace right now.

I very much can’t afford this, but I don’t care. I’m sending a care package to the Italian for Christmas. He is going to be flying into Dallas the day after Christmas and as such, he will be missing out on Christmas with his family. To keep you in the loop: he is based in Dubai. His family is in Italy. He will be working a 15ish-hour flight the day after Christmas so he needs to spend Christmas in town, but of course all of his friends have left to spend the holiday with their families, so he’s going to be alone. I know he’s disappointed about this and I want to do what I can to cheer him up.

So! I checked into super stalker mode (c’mon, this is OD, y’all are stalkers, too) and tracked down which hotel he’ll be staying at in Dallas. Armed with their address and phone number, I will march into the UPS store (in my uniform, just to freak everyone out) and send off a box with a homemade black scarf that I crocheted (because I’m a nerd and because I thought it would be good to have something handmade in there), a pair of ear buds for his phone (because when we last spoke he said his were frayed), Starbucks coffee (because it seemed less reliant on personal taste than incense, which is what I really wanted to get him), and Hershey’s Kisses (because he loves chocolate and because he ends every conversation saying, "Kisses!").

I have to admit that this little project is so much more for me than it is for him. I thrive in an environment that allows me to take care of others and I’ve been so overwhelmed with life that focusing on his care package has helped to calm me down. It’s also the only chance I’ll have this year to wrap Christmas presents, which I genuinely love to do.

He has no idea that it’s coming. I wish I could be there to see his face when he gets it! For the first time this year, I’m actually excited for Christmas to arrive.

Log in to write a note
December 19, 2012

aawww cute. I bet he’ll appreciate it. My family uninvited me to christmas, and i wish my s/o would do that for me! he’s super lucky =)

December 20, 2012

😀 fun. and very thoughtful.

December 20, 2012

Lucky feller’.

December 20, 2012

aw very sweet :):)

I love being able to surprise people like that, and yet amazingly I don’t like being surprised myself … LOL!

December 20, 2012

aww that sounds so exciting. I am sure you will be so thrilled when he lets you know of his surprise from you. Enjoy the Weekend!

RYN .. I am done. So you can leave me more notes. I just love notes, call me a note whore. Anyways .. hope you have a great Christmas. Btw .. why will your uniform freak people out ? I don’t know what you do ? I have been gone for a long time .. so you must forgive me.

This is such a wonderful idea. To be a true stalker, you’d deliver it in person. Just sayin’

RYN .. I added more pics. She is very beautiful. She is one of my readers of my diary now, so I may get hell for this entry when she sees it.

RYN: I can now see how your uniform would have been an asset. Good for getting the discount. Hope you have a Merry Christmas.

ryn thank you for the compliment

December 22, 2012

ryn, meep, I’m sorry, that was a rather shitty entry – kind of vague and melodramatic. It was just a sad moment. No I’m not married but there’s a specific person I’m not married to. We live together and have been together for 8 years. I sometimes call him Significant Other, maybe that’s what mislead you. “Boyfriend” doesn’t seem to cover it because we’re adults in a devoted long-term relationship.

December 22, 2012

Erh, I just realized what the end of that note sounded like… People in adult, long-term devoted relationships can totally call each other boyfriend or girlfriend. I just meant that he’s 30 so I feel weird calling him “boy” and the word seems to carry a connotation of dating and going out, while we’re past that. In Finnish he’s my “avomies” – open husband, as in living together but not married.

RYN: Yes I can understand that all too well. I really would rather have California weather. I remember as a kid I went to LA in January and it was like heaven compared to here. I am getting a cold .. so there are issues with living up in the frozen north. But really we are Canadians and we are used to 7 months of winter. That’s why we travel south in the winter time if we can. Anyways .. hope you

have a good Christmas and such. But sure that you don’t want to see another parcel right about now. I am still waiting for a Christmas card from my parents still. Guess the mail service isn’t as good as UPS. Actually I prefer FedEx cause they don’t charge brokerage fees when your package crosses the border. At least they don’t collect it from you at the time of delivery like UPS does. But those

brown UPS uniforms are so sexy. *winks*. Take care.

December 24, 2012

Awesome. I bet he will love.it. Merry Christmas

December 25, 2012
December 27, 2012

I hope he enjoys it.

December 29, 2012

Coming to Seattle!!!!! Pray tell, son.

December 29, 2012

Howdy, thanks for the comment! I’m taking spanish with Rosetta Stone

December 30, 2012

RYN: Yeah it’s really cool! Sometimes when I look at it, I feel like it’s so robotic and like if I take it off, I’ll be arrested or killed! hahahahahaha It’s just because it’s the new “color” and it’s something Ice. So you can see all the parts inside of it! But it’s cool! I have a LONG way to go, but at least I started by putting it on! 🙂 How was your Christmas? 🙂 *HUGS*

I was just reading some of your old entries. I even came across some old notes I left you back in 2004. Seems I was single back then too, but I did love my cat. Don’t know what cat that would be. I know I had a good job back then but cannot remember much else. For me 2013 is a new year and a new start. I hope this year goes well but I am also very scared about the future. I may write about it some

day. Hope your weekend is going well.

December 31, 2012

Isn’t that the point of notes? To talk about yourself? I’ve been out of the gym for six months. It’s just an inconvenient location. I’m going to try using the university’s gym. But the hardest part there is getting adequate nutrition before and afterwards.

December 31, 2012

ryn, heh 🙂 sometimes it’s easier to sort things out in my first language because it’s just a little bit easier to express myself. But making something private makes me feel like I’m talking to myself. I know, makes no sense at all. 🙂

Italian, Mexican, Barainian (?), flavor of the week, good for you because it will define what you don’t want, and therefore what you do what your life to behold. Sounds goofy, but true. And btw, saw your photo’s, you are all that and more. Live it, eh.