I had a really good title for this entry!

Random Thought Of The Entry:  At least it’s been less than month this time!

Hi there!

I’ve thought about attempting to write in here countless times since I last wrote, but I haven’t taken the time until right now.

Everything has continued to be pretty awesome-sauce around here.  I am the ultimate dish-ass-kicker/employee, and my maturity level (even compared with Felicita and Jess who are both a couple years older than I am) is proving to be an asset.  I care about my work, not just the paycheck every week, but the actual "product" that I provide which is a kitchen full of sparklingly clean dishes and my general battle against entropy.

Being Ashley’s father and Sezzie’s husband has been incredibly rewarding, too.  I love waking up with my little smoosh, changing her diaper, then feeding her some dry cheerios, chopped up almonds, and raisins and sitting with her while drinking some coffee/hot cocoa that I chill in my Chicago Bears Tervis Tumbler (not an actual picture of mine, but I have the same one).  We just sit there relaxing into the morning.  Sometimes she’ll want to colour some pictures of Elmo that Sezzie traced out of the Elmo colouring book we have, sometimes she’ll want to get out of the high-chair and move around.  It’s all just a bunch of loveliness being a dad.

It had been pretty ridiculously warm here for a while, getting up into the 90’s (it was routinely hovering around 110 F in the "hot zone" of the kitchen at work) for most of the day.  I haven’t been able to take Ashley for our walks, which I’ve missed something fierce.  It’s been raining a lot today, and it still is right now at 9:10 PM, and the temperature is already much better.  I hope this brings about a bit of a "cool change" for at least a few days, and not too much humidity.

I can’t really think of much else to talk about.  Life is beautifully routine and easy-to-handle, and I’m so grateful to be living it.

Oh!  I’ve been re-reading my Kurt Vonnegut collection!  I reread Slaughterhouse-Five first, then his collection of work called Wampeters, Foma, and Granfaloons, and now I’m reading Player Piano.  And I’ve been following the stories a lot better than I did the first time I read all of it back before my brain shtuff went down.  It’s so awesome ’cause I’ve got a lot of really well done material to enjoy, and it just feels so good to read, you know?

One more thing I just remembered!  Our shower in this apartment finally got tended to by a proper plumber.  His name was Wayne and he got us all fixed up with a new showerhead, new knobs so now the shower just turns on, you get clean in it, then you turn it off and there are no drips whatsoever.  And he stopped the dripping that was making its way downstairs onto the heads of anybody standing at the cook-top.  I’m telling you, those little things really do a good job of making life feel good.

So yeah, life is rocking it.

Log in to write a note
July 23, 2013

I want walk weather! I need to quit being an entry-slacker too. Don’t turn off the computer!

July 24, 2013

^^^ lol

July 24, 2013

Sounds like a very enjoyable rewarding life. *giant hugs*

July 26, 2013

Good to see things going so well. You are a blessed man, Jake.

July 26, 2013

Send the plumber my way. 🙂 We have been having nice weather here in missouri. Its been a very unusual summer weather wise. Its only been over 95 just a couple of times.

July 27, 2013

Which is your fav Vonnegut? I have only read Slaughterhouse 5 but I felt like I was missing something at the time, like it didn’t quite hit the mark. I didn’t quite ‘get it’. Disappointing.

RYN: Weirdly enough, gas stations seem to stock RC Cola still.

our weather here is great too, glad you are appreciating everything, that is what everyone should do 🙂

RYN: Thanks for the kind words, chief. Hey, did you make the jump to Prosebox yet?

August 11, 2013
August 17, 2013

RYN: You’re always a reliable source of happy thoughts/feelings, Jake. Way to be your awesome, positive self 😀