just so you know

Random Thought Of The Entry:  I’m not leaving this "place" until there’s no "place" left.

W00t for coming back in less than a month again!

As I’m sure you’re all aware, there was some OD drama there for a while, and things are still seemingly up-in-the-air, but I’ll keep on reading and writing here until it’s simply not possible.  I care too damn much about my OD-family, and typing my thoughts into this text-a-licious space still makes me feel good.

I did start up a Prosebox, with the same name as here (thank goodness I’m at least a little bit original, nobody else snatched up the name "squidobarnez"), but my first stop for all things mental-cleansing will be this little piece of the internet.

As far as non-internet-related life goes, things are still chuggin’ along rather nicely.  I am ridiculously good at my job, proving to be an invaluable asset as a dish-ass-kicker-and-generally-happy-to-be-working-there-dude.  I look forward to doing a really good job every day.  Being the husband and father that I am make me feel like I’m on this planet for some worthwhile reasons.

I’ve been reading like a fiend again, and actually retaining story lines throughout entire novels, which is something that Jake 2.0 hadn’t been able to do since December of 2003 (when they last dug deep into my skull and melon-balled out the majority of the seething garbage that resided deep within the third ventricle of my brain).  I’ve blasted my way through a good chunk of my Kurt Vonnegut collection over the past few weeks, and I’m thisclose to finishing Darwin’s Origin of Species on the kindle that my mom got me for my birthday (a device that I credit with getting me back into reading again, thanks mom!).  I also read Journey to the Center of the Earth on the kindle ’cause Sezzie had read it on her kindle app for her phone.  We have a whole bunch of neat-sounding books stored up in our little virtual library.  I’m reading Kurt Vonnegut’s Timequake at the moment in good ol’-fashioned paper-back, but the intensity with which my reading appetite has been resurrected will undoubtedly have me plowing through all of the lovely words-put-together that are at our disposal.

I’m really hoping that this site can find a way to stick around, because I’ve been through too much and gotten so much from this "place" that it would make me sad to lose it.

Our getting-bigger-every-day-"little"-girl became 18 months old six days ago.  Time is moving very quickly, but also at just the right pace for me to appreciate every little moment.  I grow more in love with her every day, and being her dad is the most rewarding thing I’ve ever had the pleasure of doing.

In closing, I feel like I’m doing quite well at life, I really hope this website doesn’t go kaput any time soon, and I think you’re all so wonderful.  You’re all a bunch of good eggs.

Log in to write a note
August 18, 2013

Love to you!

August 18, 2013

18mths has gone fast! Like you I have reserved my name at Prosebox.. But hope/expect to be here forever.. Take care..

August 18, 2013

I agree!

August 19, 2013

Happy half birthday princess 🙂

August 19, 2013

You’re an awesome happy dude 🙂 And reading is also awesome.

August 19, 2013

You’re a pretty good egg yourself. *giant hugs*

August 19, 2013

Hi! These are note-words. 🙂 Marvelous, no?

August 23, 2013

Same to you Jake. You are doing what many parents never take the time to do. Appreciate the quality of time that you have with your beautiful daughter. Thanks for always inspiring me to do the best that I can.

ryn: the yogurt cups is a good idea! we save bottle tops. the smallest I save are milk tops. I have a big empty pretzel tub to keep them in. I don’t keep soda bottle tops b/c I think they could be choked on. The kids play with those lids so often…why buy toys?! Lol

August 28, 2013

The gabapentin has not actually given me any side effects. It was the Topamax that was screwing me up. I hope your friend feels better and that you stay awesome….which should be no problem for you 😀

August 28, 2013

I also started a prosebox with the same name but like you hope to be “here” forever. Since this is where you and Sez met Im sure the site has special meaning for you. Which Vonnegut book would you suggest to someone who has not read him before? Has Ashley started the temper tantrums yet? My Lainie has.

RYN: Then we have flat feet in common as well, sir. =)