Rabbit! Rabbit!

Random Thought Of The Entry:  I’m surprised at how glad I am that I don’t have to work tomorrow.

Well hi there!

First off let me explain the title of this entry.  One of the things that Stacey (the waitress that I worked with that was killed in an automobile accident a couple of years ago) told us all about was that if the first thing you said on the first of the month was "Rabbit, Rabbit," then you’d have good luck all month.  Now, I’m not certain that it was the first thing I said with my vocal chords this morning (that was probably something like, "Hi Ashley!  You want some cheerios?), but at least I can rest assured knowing it’s the first thing I typed into the texty spaces of this lovely little diary.

Life is still being awesomely satisfying and pleasant in the land of Jake.  I’m ridiculously in love with Sezzie and Ashley and being a husband and a father, even with the moments of frustration that are inevitable.  Being human sure is funny business, but it’s a burden we’ve all got to endure.  I know I can let my emotions grab a hold of me, but I’m finding the method of handling whatever bubbles up and so far it’s been a relatively smooth ride, mentally.

It’s Labor Day weekend, the unofficial last hurrah of summer (or something).  I got a shave and a haircut yesterday, we did some grocery shopping, and after hanging out at home we went out to dinner with my dad and most of my step-siblings from his part of my rather expansive "family."  There were a bunch of youngsters there, with Ashley being the youngest and all the others were getting a bit in-her-face, but she did well with not freaking out too much and Sezzie did amazingly well with setting boundaries for them.  I talked to my dad a lot about how cool it is having Ashley as a daughter and he complimented my weight loss and seemed impressed with how well Ashley was handling the hoopla from the other youngens.  And Nancy was pleasant, which is something I guess I feel worthy of remarking upon in this one sentence.

Ashley had a bit of a grizzly evening tonight, she’s a human with human emotions, too, but Sezzie also handled that really well.  I’m so grateful to be a parenting team with her.

Hopefully tomorrow is a pleasantly uneventful day off for all of us.  I’ll take Ashley out for a walk and play outside, and Sezzie will get some time for herself, and we’ll just keep rocking at this raising-another-human biz-nass.  I’m quite glad that I don’t have to work tomorrow.

Log in to write a note
September 1, 2013

A bit of a grizzly evening. HA! More like a half hour of hysterical scream-crying because I demanded she eat one tiny piece of her dinner. I love parenting with you. We rock it all.

September 1, 2013

🙂

September 2, 2013

You are a really great husband and father. And a great son-in-law too. I’m so looking forward to visiting you in a few weeks. *giant hugs*

The is cute about the Rabbit Rabbit, I said it, so I hope that I will have good luck all month 🙂

You are so incredibly grateful. I wish I was more like you.

September 3, 2013

Time moves so quickly! “take Ashley out for a walk…” I mean, it seems like both yesterday and so long ago that Sezzie was pregnant! Needing your OD buddy huggles-o-squish, Jake. Thanks for writing. I got really bad news today and reading a fellow zipperhead’s diary reminds me of how awesome life is. <3

September 5, 2013

Sounds like Ashley might be entering her terrible two’s a tad bit early. 🙂