just lil’ bit of Wednesday night babblage

Random Thought Of The Entry:  I just saw "rectum" instead of "medium" when I clicked to change the text size in the OD editor bar thing, and it made me giggle-shake.

Let me start off this entry by expressing my sadness about what some humans did to some other humans twelve years ago.  I can’t form my feelings about all of that into coherent sentences other than the one I’m writing right now.

Life has been moving along pretty beautifully in the land of Jake.  I am absolutely rocking at my job, and following through on the urge I get to express my gratitude for having the job and getting to do the work that I do.  I guess it’s somewhat rare for a dishwasher to actually like washing dishes, and that most people do it in order to get their foot in the door and "climb the ladder" on to "better" jobs in the restaurant business.  I’m absolutely comfortable with my role because I know I am the best that there is for the Split Rail, and working there brings a lot more security to my life than a lot of people have in their roles in life.

I also felt sprite-like pangs of intense gratitude for all of the people that I have ever known.  I’d be bussing a table or at the sink rocking some soapy suds-action, and a little torrent of consciousness (like a stream of consciousness, but super-fast and intense) would make me remember my best friends growing up along with some really nice cashiers I’ve interacted with, and then on to words I’ve read in books or on this here internet, and I was just being bombarded with thoughts and images of why I’m so glad to be living this life.

And of course, I thought about Sezzie and Ashley and how out-of-this-world lucky I feel to be a family with them.

I can pretty much coax hugs out of Ashley now, and she gives the cutest hugs.  She wraps her arms around me and pats my back and says, "hugs" with a smile in her voice.  There is just nothing like the love of the person that you helped create.

It’s already Wednesday night, which kinda blows my mind.  Tomorrow I’ll get to rock some dish-ass-kickery with Laurie cooking in Barb’s place, and that’s always awesome ’cause Laurie is awesome and easy to work with/for (if you’re actually competent in your role, which I am).

Uhhhh…I think I’ve run out of things to talk about.

Log in to write a note
September 11, 2013

Have fun with Laurie tomorrow. I’m sure we will come visit. Ashley likes Waugie. 🙂

September 11, 2013

Also… YOU DIDN’T WRITE ABOUT THE NEW CAR! 🙂

September 12, 2013

Aw Jake, this is an awesome entry full of awesomeness! I find your attitude to life most inspiring and some times when I’m feeling down I try to think like Jake would 🙂

September 16, 2013

*giant hugs*