05/25/2011

once again, i’ve neglected this diary for almost a year.  2010 flew by so quickly that i almost didn’t see it happen. 

12 months later, and joe and i are still together.  i really never thought i’d be able to love someone again after what happened with scott, but somehow i was able to get past all of that and build a really wonderful life with joe.  he is the most wonderful man i could ever ask for…and even though there are times when he annoys me to no end, we complete each other.  which we both find strange, considering that we have absolutely NOTHING in common.  literally nothing, with the exception of some food choices and paint colors.  we disagree on just about everything, from music to movies to what kind of beer to drink…..etc, etc, etc.  in the beginning, it scared me and i wondered if it would be the one thing that would prevent us from truly bonding.  but somehow, we are still together and stronger than ever, despite our lack of common ground.  we laugh about it now, which i love.

my gut tells me that he is it for me.  there is no nagging, underlying feeling of discontentment, no fear that he isn’t telling me everything there is to tell.  he truly is just a normal guy, with a normal job and a normal family and a normal life.  i love every second of it.  for the past month or so, i’ve been feeling like he might be realizing this too…if he hasn’t already.  we never talk about marriage or children in concrete terms, but it must have crossed his mind…otherwise, why stay with me?  for now, though, i am content with the way things are and so very thankful that he is a part of my life.

work is better these days, but it’s still not my dream job.  i guess i’m slowly getting over that and learning to build a niche there.  i’m well liked by the families i serve and actually think i may have made a difference in the lives of a few of them.  so, that’s something worth sticking around for, i suppose.

it’s strange, but i seem to have found peace in my life.  i never thought i’d say those words, but for once, they’re actually true. 

Log in to write a note
May 26, 2011

having differences is a good thing, it ensures you give each other your own lives too. Marriage and kids though is one of those things you need to agree on because thats the thing that can tear people apart x

December 25, 2011

you have been my friend for years- though I have never known you face to face. and for the past two or three years, I have disappeared. not necessarily by choice- but due to my forgetfulness (they give you such a hard time if you forget your password!) regardless, I am “back” again- and am ever so thankful to see you journaled this year- even if it was 7 months ago..

December 25, 2011

I am trying to figure out if there’s a way to leave you a private note- with my email address or Facebook account- but at this point I’m not sure if I care anymore.. I’d really like to be able to contact you further, and thank you for your support over the past 7-10 years of my life, through this FOD journal. until then, God bless..