I Didn’t Realize …

how broken I feel inside still after three years since D passed, until after the bar-b-q with the kids on Tuesday.  I honoured his memory, like everyone seems to, on FB, and surprisingly sharing on social media did actually help in a certain way.  I’m not alone, and I could feel my friends surround me with a great big old group hug …. sigh …. and then life continues, as it always does, without him beside me.  I walked into the house with my cat and sat on the couch, and was completely emotionally spent, even though no tears were shed at the bar-b-q, no memories revisited … we all knew why we came together as a family to eat steak and potatoes, and we had a really good time … yet D wasn’t even mentioned.  I have to understand that what I want and what I get can be two totally different things Lol … also, I know my kids are healing, just as I am, and everyone grieves and heals in their own unique way.  As a mother, I want to take the pain away from my children … put a bandaid on the boo boo and kiss it all better … but that don’t cut it with this … and I guess I feel helpless which I don’t do well with, because I Always help others feel better … that’s just what I do … somehow I always know what needs to be said … or not said …

The last few weeks have been pretty darn good, with an underlying theme of the impending May 1. Memories of my life with D would flutter up like butterflies, tickling and making me giggle. I started a new story and storyboard and started inking it out; I painted a bodymap which is kick ass amazing; I am in the process of re-arranging my hosue to make room for K and T to move in for the summer – but it’s actually turning out to be a very personal and spiritual re-arranging; I started to focus again on my eating habits and exercise regime – which has fallen by the wayside this week;) I spent time recovering broken sexual bits that have been in pieces for decades – hello little girl inside who is finding her voice; I even booked a flight to NY this summer to meet R again …. my life, doing things that light me up … sigh … I truly thought the pain and emptiness were gone. Looking back though, I was caught up in doing everything I could to avoid thinking And more specifically, talking about May 1 until it was right on top of me.  What more could I have done to prevent this emotional setback …. hmmmmmmmm is it even a setback?? Or perhaps, just part of processing human experiences … progress, not perfection:)

I usually give my Self 24 hours to get my head out of my ass, and today it will be 72 hours.  Maybe I need to relax my rules abit for this one.

Log in to write a note
May 3, 2018

I’m glad you’re healing.  Part of healing is 2 steps forward, 6 steps back one day, then a bounce forward, back, stuck, it’s ok.
Be gentle with you.
I’m so sorry for your loss. Helpless, yes, that’s the perfect description. No matter what you do, say, feel, no matter what, you’re just not going to control this event. Big hugs (I know we don’t even know each other) I’ve been grief stricken, as the world goes on. It’s surreal, and too much, and not enough, and everything!
I hope you have a wonderful trip to NY. (sounds exciting!)
Take care of you.

May 4, 2018

@jdsnafu

Thank you so much for your words and understanding.  I have a way of “knowing it all” (at least that’s what I tell myself;) and then I get blindsided and everything I know goes right out the window and I’m sitting in a corner, sucking my thumb ahahaha Reality check!!!!

May 3, 2018

Grief comes back hard at unexpected times, but sounds like you have the tools to get through it. I hope you have a great trip!

May 4, 2018

@thediarymaster

Thank you as well, TDM …. you reminded me to look through my toolbox to find the right tool for this particular job, instead of expecting someone to do it for me 🙂

May 4, 2018

@teamarea good for you!