2023 Music

Early last year I challenged myself to seek out more new music, both from new-to-me artists as well as from artists I already know. The songs and albums listed are in no particular order. I will say that my three favorite albums this 2023 were Feeble Little Horse – Girl with Fish, Angelo De Augustine – Toil and Trouble, and boygenius – The Record.
 

Spirit of the Beehive – I’m So Lucky (E.P.)
Song(s): “Tapeworm”/“Natural Devotion 2”
Just found this band in December after they were mentioned in a review for a Feeble Little Horse. Already in love. The video is for two different songs, and the juxtaposition between the two is so good.

 

Damien Jurado – Motorcyle Madness
Song: “St. Gregory Hotel”
This is from the second full-length he put out this year (I also enjoyed the first,  Sometimes You Hurt the Ones You Hate.) I’ve loved Damien since I was in my late teens. Apparently, he’s now married to a girl who was in my undergrad art program. Random, the things you find out while on Wikipedia.

 

Bombay Bicyle Club – My Big Day
Song: “I Want To Be Your Only Pet”
The husband, who doesn’t always quite get my taste in music, recommended this. In this case, the recommendation was spot on.

 

Feeble Little Horse – Girl with Fish
Song: “Sweet”
I’m such a sucker for shoegaze and noise rock. Every song on this album is excellent.

 

Black Belt Eagle Scout – The Land, The Water, The Sky
Song: “Spaces”
Beautiful, expansive indie rock. Her parents sing with her on this track.

 

boygenius – The Record
Song: “Satanist”
One of the few examples of a super group 100% living up to the hype. So incredibly hard to name a favorite song on this album. I think my favorite lyric of the year might be from Leonard Cohen: “I might like you less now that you know me so well”.  Ooof.

Link, because YouTube won’t let me embed this one

 

Wednesday – Rat Saw God
Song: “Bath County”
Never thought I’d hear a band described as alt-country, shoegaze, and noise rock, but it works so well.

 

Unknown Mortal Orchestra – V
Song: “The Garden”
Another great album from a longtime favorite. UMO manages to keep sounding fresh without straying too much from their roots. This particular song reminds me of their first album.

 

Angelo De Augustine – Toil and Trouble
Song: “Naked Blade”
Imagine if Sufjan Stevens and Elliot Smith had an even sadder love child. Absolutely gorgeous, near perfect album.

 

Mitski – The Land Is Inhospitable and So Are We
Song: “I Don’t Like My Mind”
Stripped back and laid bare. There’s yet to be a Mitski album I don’t love.

 

Sufjan Stevens – Javelin
Song: “Goodbye Evergreen”
How many people listened to this album for the first time while full blown sobbing? This album is such a good combination of Sufjan’s earlier work and his later, more experimental and orchestral albums.

 

Mandy, Indiana – i’ve seen a way
Song: “Pinking Shears”
Do I speak French? No, but that never stopped me from listening to Stereolab. Honestly, though – take a moment to look these lyrics up and translate them. I, too, find myself exhausted by the current state of world affairs.

 

Sweeping Promises – Good Living is Coming For You
Song: “Connoisseur of Salt”
Solid, female led, indie post-punk. Appeals to the me that still loves early B-52s and Le Tigre.

 

Faye Webster – “But Not Kiss” (Single)
Possibly my favorite song of the year. Swoony perfection. Very much hope we get a new album from Faye this year, and that this is the direction she’s headed in. Also, I don’t tend to like music videos, but I adore this one.

Link, because YouTube won’t let me embed this one

 

King Krule – Space Heavy
Song: “Hamburgerphobia”
I think I’d love anything Archy Marshall sang. Maybe not my favorite King Krule album, but still quite good.

Link, because YouTube won’t let me embed this one

Log in to write a note
January 6, 2024

Ahhh! Mitski and Sufjan also were in my top picks this year. (Absolutely love the tracks When Memories Snow and Bug Like an Angel by Mitski…. And Shit Talk by Sufjan.) I also loved that same track you listed by Bombay Bicycle Club.

I’ve heard a lot of the other tracks you have listed (or other tracks from the same album), but am excited to listen to the few that were unfamiliar.

I know you didn’t ask for it, but some of my favorite tracks this year, besides the aforementioned ones: Eat the Acid by Kesha (a pleasant surprise)… Red Wine Supernova by Chappell Roan… Smoke Detector by The National…No Caffeine by Marika Hackman …. Long Grass by Will Butler + Sister Squares … A & W by Lana Del Rey … Eat Your Young by Hozier… A Child’s Question, August by PJ Harvey … Barbaric by Blur…

It was such a great year for music. 💜 So excited to see this entry, if you can’t tell.

January 8, 2024

@thecriticsdarling

I listened to all of these. I’ve never heard of Marika Hackman before, but enjoyed what I heard. This album comes out Friday and will be going into my rotation.

Lana Del Rey is someone whose music I’ve always enjoyed but never sought out. I need to rectify this.

I’d only ever known Hozier for the one song (you know the one) and written him off. (Hate that song.) Listened to this one and the one recommended below. Glad I did.

PJ Harvey & Blur, vestiges of days past. Kind of forgot they put out new music this year. The PJ Harvey song is excellent. Blur song is quite good as well.

January 6, 2024

Oooh, love this list. I know a few and will be stealing the rest from you. (:

I didn’t have much new music from last year (at least knowingly), as I was all over the place—apparently having listened to 10,500 songs. My top pick from 2023’s releases is Abstract (Psychopomp) by Hozier, though, and it will most likely be my most listened to song this year.

January 8, 2024

@scullyfiend

I’d read somewhere, in my early 20s, that the music of your early to mid 20s is the music that sticks with you for life. And, yes, I still listen to quite a bit of that, but I’m also happy to hear new things. So many truly amazing albums came out in 2023.

I’ll be 45 in May. Don’t want to stop seeking out the new or stop pushing my brain. Got to keep those neural networks healthy.