Back Online

My apologies for the outage last night and today – we are in the process of updating our datacenter, and there was a network outage that required a great deal of work to repair.

This was a communications failure, and none of our systems or data were damaged in any way.  Total outage was less than 24 hours, but I will be crediting an extra day to subscriptions for Plus users as soon as possible.  I appreciate your patience!

Thanks,

The DiaryMaster

Log in to write a note

Thank you =)

It was totally horrible but I’m totally happy it’s back!! Spanks, DM.

August 25, 2010

Great work DM – thanks! You’ve not been around much with entries of your own lately. Hope all’s well.

On my tenth anniversary of being on here nonetheless! :O hahaha So, um. yay welcome back to us Oh irony. Chris

August 25, 2010

Thanks for fixing this! 🙂 I was already getting worried, but you rule, our dearest ODMaster 😀

August 25, 2010

Its good to be back online.

August 25, 2010

What do Lifetime Members get? Can I get a Klondike bar?

August 25, 2010

Thank You for the update. I always wonder if its me, AOL, or you. lol.

August 25, 2010

Thanks! I’m glad no data was lost!

August 25, 2010

…more updates on Facebook would help in the future. A lot of us were in a panic!!!

August 25, 2010

I want a Klondike bar, too! Thanks. And don’t go read the posts on the OD Facebook page. What a bunch of drama queens! LOL!

August 25, 2010

Thanks!

August 25, 2010

I appreciate the notification, but it was after the fact. Many of us were around during the hacker attack. Is there any way to notify us on the main page while it’s in outage or through FB? We need our OD fix!

August 25, 2010

Yes. Thank you. I think you do an excellent job. This is an important site to many people.

August 25, 2010

Phew!!! I thought OD was gone lol… thanks for getting it back up and running :D.

Yea, we’re back up and running. I don’t often say how much I appreciate the site and then when it’s down I realize how important the people who post here are to me. Thanks for making the site available. I’m sure it’s a thankless job. THANK YOU!

August 25, 2010

Thanks for the extra day. Glad we are back again

It’s good to be back. Thank you.

August 25, 2010

I agree with the above noters. A facebook update would be nice, for me OD was down for over 24 hours….and what about us lifers??? 🙂 THANK YOU FOR GETTING THE SITE BACK UP AND RUNNING….we really were tweeking without it.

August 25, 2010

Ditto to Merri:)

You’re the best! 🙂

August 25, 2010

thank goodness its back up! i was starting worry. 🙂

August 25, 2010

Whew. :o)

August 25, 2010

thank you!

August 25, 2010

Thank you !!

Glad it’s back. =]

August 25, 2010

Thanks for the explanation.

August 25, 2010

Aloha… “I will be crediting an extra day to subscriptions for Plus users”… Oh good… I have a life time membership… does this mean that I get to take my O.D. journal to Heaven with me after I die (assuming I get into Heaven)… Smiles/Me ke aloha…………

August 25, 2010

next time, fix it with a hammer.

August 25, 2010

Thank You!:)

does that mean i get another day of life? hehehehe

August 25, 2010

At least it’s back online! That’s the main thing!

August 25, 2010

Thanks for all your hard work on this! I’m on dial-up; kept timing out when I tried to reach OD’s front page. Just a couple of days earlier the same thing had happened when I tried to reach the Flickr front page. A complete computer shut-down on my end had fixed that, though not for OD. I’d assumed the glitch was on my end. You’re taking good care of your human systems over there, too, right? 🙂

August 25, 2010

Was wondering what was going on 🙁 glad its all sorted now.

So VERY glad it’s back up, and glad for you & your staff this difficult task/tasks/ is/ are / behind you now. I missed OD so much this time, I thought I was going to perish, but, it’s my support group, too, and since my best friend ex-hubby died in May, I need my OD group!!! Thank you so very much. BigHugz.

August 25, 2010

Seems like it wouldn’t be summer without there being a catastrophe at OD…I’m glad this one is over. Thanks for the credit. 🙂

Kudos smarty pants!

August 25, 2010

thanks….we do miss you when this happens but you are always quickly on the ball. hugs P

August 25, 2010

Yay, thank you! 🙂

August 25, 2010

Thank you for the Plus credit. 🙂

August 25, 2010

I have to say I was monitoring the OD fan page on FB today for some sort of update. Like it was said most of us were around for the attack in 2004. I started getting antsy after a while thinking that I hadn’t downloaded my diary in umm…a few years to say the least and was worried I lost a few, if not most, of my entries that were recently written. While I know the outtage was out of your control and we all appreciate the work you do here, there has to be some better way to communicate with us, as well as assure us, that all is well and nothing has been compromised.

Oh thank goodness. I thought it was my computer because at the same time I couldn’t get into Craigslist Austin. Turns out it’s because The big U of T just began classes. What a coincidence!

August 25, 2010

Did someone say klondike bar? Yeah! I want one of those instead of an extra day! Thanks for the update.

August 25, 2010

Glad it is all back! Such big moves and changes usually don’t go without a hitch. No matter how much planning and no matter how prepared you try to be, these kinds of things with computers and networks and servers, usually have a hiccup or two 😉

Great job getting it back up…thank you!

August 25, 2010

I almost freaked out, but so glad that it’s back. Thank yooouu!!!

August 25, 2010

Thank you for getting the site back up. “This was a communications failure,” – what do you mean? Do you mean that your computers weren’t “talking” to the internet? I’m glad that none of your systems or data were damaged… though it would be appreciated if you could let us know before you do updates so that we can back-up our diaries (for those of us that do), just *in case* there were damage. Also as many people have pointed out, a Facebook update, or a way to notify us through the OD site would be nice during an outage too… And yeah… just wondering about us lifers… I guess we just have the privilege of getting to use OD again… at least it *is* up & running again… THANKS AGAIN!!! 🙂

I wish there was a way you could let us know so we don’t keep trying to fix our own computers. I do not subscribe to Twitter. I did finally find a notice on Facebook but that was hours after OD went down.

August 25, 2010

maybe you could have a way of sending out a “system wide” notification that goes to the email address associated with the accounts? the not knowing is hard to take

August 25, 2010

Figures. I actually had time to write today!

August 25, 2010

I am so glad nothing was damaged..id cry with out my od or my past entries lol

Could you expand for the geeks out here? What happened? Thanks for getting it back up. Maybe a perk for the Lifetime members is an email blast when things go down with an update every few hours. Then we could pass on the information to the rest of the world.

I wondered why I couldn’t get online…. GLAD IT’S BACK!

Mns
August 25, 2010

Thank you.

August 25, 2010

Is this why it’s taking forever for the pages to load? When I click on one of my bookmarks, it just takes forever and ever and the bar at the bottom just scrolls continuously…thanks for all of your hard work…

August 25, 2010

I’m glad the site is back online 🙂

August 25, 2010

Good to be back… Makes us all appreciate you more.. LOL!

Thank you for the credit!

August 25, 2010

Thanks. I thought it was my computer at first. Glad OD is back.

August 25, 2010

fantastic 🙂 glad to see OD back up and running thank you for all you awesome work

August 25, 2010

I have to admit I was sweating this one out but so glad to be back!

August 25, 2010

I had to facebook for a whole day!! that was totally soul sucking!

Ced
August 25, 2010

Thanks 🙂

August 25, 2010

Thanks!!

August 25, 2010

Thank you DM!

The little “man at work” logo should make a comeback when the system is down, he was kinda reassuring that it wasn’t just my computer and that OD wasn’t gone to the great big diary land in the sky. I’m glad OD is back, thanks DM.

M
August 25, 2010

Would you please add one day to my lifetime subscription?

August 26, 2010

I didn’t even realize the OD was off line. I must have checked my Diary just before and after it was offline.

August 26, 2010

Thanks Bruce! Lee Mee xXx

August 26, 2010

Thanks for getting it back up. Though I do agree that I wish there were more communication about it. The tweet I saw came up hours after it was already down, and after that many hours, there could’ve at least been a couple “Yeah, we know, we’re still working on it” messages. But hey, at least there was something.

August 26, 2010

Those glitches sure bring back some bad memories for those of us who came here last year from MDD when their ‘glitch’ turned into a new website 🙁 Thanks for getting things back online, and not losing any of our diaries…thank you very much. Hope you have an easier day today…Michael

August 26, 2010

Thanks.

EWS
August 26, 2010

Dooood! You ROCK! 🙂 Eric

And here I’am still wondering what happened to the Booster Club and the monthly updates.

August 26, 2010

I was very grateful for the Facebook updates!

August 26, 2010

G is trying to explain this to me. 🙂 So sorry.

Did you change something with the credit card payments? I’ve tried my card today, and for some reason it is declining it. There’s no reason it should! I’ve always used the same card.

August 26, 2010

thanks.i feel better now…

Ignore my last note. I tried again now, and it accepted the payment. It was the same card that it declined twice earlier. Might want to check that out, DM.

August 26, 2010

Thank you – i was so worried we were being hacked again! xxx ?

August 26, 2010

Glad we’re back up and running!

August 26, 2010

Woohoo! Thanks for fixing it up 🙂

Vellosa had a good point. It would have been nice to have had at least a Will Be Back! post on the main page. It felt like two days… I was anxious that someone was malicious again.

August 28, 2010

I was anxious when the OD was down…remembering what I lost when it was hacked. I just want to say that I really appreciate the effort(s) you make in order to make this a great (and secure) site. Thanks!

September 2, 2010

I’m very glad you got the site up and running again. Now will you PLEASE do something about those annoying pop-up ads??? Wil

September 2, 2010

Please stop Buck Pacer from nominating the same dumbass diarist to Retards Choice, please for ****s sake. Matter of fact, please stop everyone who is’nt me from nominating anything.

September 10, 2010

You’re a gem. I can’t say it enough what an amazing job you do here. For what it’s worth.

September 12, 2010

Quick question about the lifetime memberships. Can you get those for someone as a gift? I know of someone who I would love to do that as a birthday present!!

September 15, 2010

I cannot save an entry is there something wrong with the site?

September 16, 2010

Hi there! I am so happy to tell you that I liked Open Diary very much. Dr. Sam Burton is helping me a lot. He introduced OD to me and to my sis and all our classmates. Lots of my friends joined recently too. Thanks a lot and have a nice day Sophia

September 20, 2010

Um…not sure who to ask about this so I’ll just ask here! I accidentally reported my own diary. I was trying to report a couple notes that were spam or something, and instead reported my own entry! Is there a way to un-report myself? And a way to actually report the notes?? Thanks!

September 25, 2010

Hi, and thank you so much for ALL you do! I’m having trouble getting the pics to work tho. I use Photobucket. Is anyone else having this trouble?

September 27, 2010

My notes are garbaged… :/ Tehachap

October 3, 2010

Hi there! My name is Miranda! Dr. Sam Burton helped me join OD. He’s such a nice man. I like OD a lot. M

ryn: Thanks. I appreciate the quick response. 🙂 If you need more info, let me know.

October 5, 2010

Hi! My name is Cindy. Dr. Sam Burton helped me join OD. OD is very cook. Thnaks!

October 8, 2010

i haven’t been back to this site in over 10 years. i had a diary here from 1998-2001. it meant a lot to me! and now i’m back and so happy to see how much has stayed the same. i’m sure my old diary is long gone. that’s ok. nothing stays the same forever…anyway, thanks for still being here. 🙂

October 22, 2010