Log in to write a note

Awesome!

Thank YOU! =]

Thanks, and thank you also for the warning, earlier today. Your midnight is our 2 p.m. in Australia, and a time I often visit Open Diary. It was good to know why I couldn’t access it for a while this afternoon.

June 1, 2010

Thanks. I always get a little nervous when I can’t access OD (a throwback to the horrors of ’04), so it’s nice to know ahead of time that there’s no need to panic.

June 1, 2010

Thank You!

June 1, 2010

Thank you again!

June 1, 2010

I am not online during the day, and so I saw no warning, and I was very concerned! While I’m glad that maintenance is being done, of course, I have to ask what sort of a calming message is conveyed by coming abruptly on “Bad Request (Invalid Hostname)”? I mean, whatever happened to that cute and reassuring jackhammerer that used to entertain us while we waited for maintenance? So, just a suggestion, if I may be so bold, can we have a little more website message reassurance if we’ve not had prior warning? (And if there WAS an alert on the front page by last night (Monday), mea culpa if I somehow missed it.)

June 2, 2010

thanks for the warning. since the disaster a few summers ago, i worry whenever i can’t get into od. take care,

June 2, 2010

you’re a quick little diary master, aren’t you?

The heads up was very much appreciated.

June 2, 2010

Good stuff….thanks.

June 2, 2010

Yay! 🙂

June 2, 2010

Good job DM as always! 🙂

June 2, 2010

This site is the BEST! Thank you!!!!

woo!

June 3, 2010

Thank you 🙂 We were really shook up by it all

June 3, 2010

Very cool. 🙂

You did? No wonder your website’s a hit. 🙂 Those skills come in handy.

What happen to you changing your profile picture and look!? lol

I know I shouldn’t leave this note here, but could you pretty please *giving puppy dog eyes* PLEASE make it to where we can make space breaks on the mobile versoin? All my words are jumbled on entries and I hate it! 😀

June 8, 2010

I haven’t been able to write in my diary since last night. I can leave notes. The diary page comes up however it will not accept any typing.

June 8, 2010

Issue resolved. Don’t know what caused it. I’m happy though because I was able to write. You do do diary maintenance quickly!

RYN: Thank you!

June 10, 2010
June 11, 2010
June 12, 2010

Dear DiaryMaster, Thank you for having an autosave facility when writing diary entries. I overloaded my computer by trying to add photos too quickly and had to shut down after it ‘froze’. How relieved was I to discover that my entry was still there! Thank you so much.

June 12, 2010

RYN: Haha I hope you know I was just kidding around! But thank you nonetheless! =)

June 12, 2010

For the life of me I can’t make the widget work, and I’d really appreciate the help. Please see my latest, public,entry, the pepsirefresh widget keeps adjusting itself, though I see it perfectly in the window before I post, it cuts off part of itself when I post it

Hello! I have been a regular user of open diary and it is a great site! I have a few suggestions on the site: how about building an iPhone version of the site? Also usability of the site can be improved by adding features such as better support for noting other users and conversation view of noted messages, etc. Specifically on the iPhone app, what do you think about it?

June 13, 2010

Hey man, I know you gotta keep the shop open here and the electric bill paid, so to speak, but I just wanted to say that having ads that have migrated out of the header and footer sections and now float over entries is a real bummer. I was trying to read somebody’s profane rant and all I could see was an ad for KY Jelly :((( I’m not asking you to change it (although I’d be so happy if you could

June 13, 2010

consider ways to make ads less intrusive), but if you could just duly *note* my grievance, I’d totally feel affirmed. Thanks. And thanks for paying the electric bill.

i’ve been getting this the past couple of days every time I try to save my new entries: The website cannot display the page HTTP 500 Most likely causes: The website is under maintenance. The website has a programming error. What you can try: Refresh the page. Go back to the previous page. More information This error (HTTP 500 Internal Server Error) means that the website you are visiting had a server problem which prevented the webpage from displaying. For more information about HTTP errors, see Help. I’vetried saving from both work and home… hmmm 🙂

June 15, 2010

I went to ‘contact us’ and reported this already, but I’m really upset. I logged in today to find that my diary has ads and my chapters are gone. I knew it was time to renew my subscription, and I paid by PayPal weeks ago, but apparently the payment never went through. Is there any way to get my chapters back, or are they just gone? I’ve been here ten years. If they’re gone, why renew?

RYN: thank u for ur note 🙂

June 16, 2010

Don’t know what I would do without Open Diary friends; they keep me going. Willy of

diarymaster, is it possible for OD to make a pop up chat similar to facebook’s version?!?! 🙂

June 18, 2010

Thank you for the f**king ads in the middle of posts I want to read.

June 19, 2010

alright!

Dear The Diary Master, How are you doing? I am your friend Sam. My diray title was “stillinlove” now it has become “Friend Of All.” A friend of mine deleted my diary in my absence. I had to start a new one today. I would be very grateful if you can honour me with my previous title “OD Booster Club” since I am already a member of it. Awfully sorry to bother you. It was a nast practical joke.S

June 22, 2010

Hi Diary Master! Today I’ve been trying to post a long entry, and I keep getting the white error page that says the page is under maintenance or has a programming error, and it does post the entry but the entry is truncated halfway through. I’d have lost much/most of it if I hadn’t composed in Wordpad. Any idea what might be going on?

June 23, 2010

Would just like to thank you guys for making OD exist. It is, without a doubt, the best blogsite I have ever found in my entire life and I absolutely love the community atmosphere. On a lot of other sites it’s almost impossible to get feedback, on here it’s almost a given! Much appreciation, Shattered.But.Shiny (so much for private!)

June 23, 2010

I’m still having the same problem I mentioned yesterday, which I had awhile ago too but haven’t had since. The entry truncates where it says there are 22584 characters left, if that helps. Man, when I have an entry combining Watership Down and solar sails, I’d really like to post it!

June 25, 2010

adding to what many people have said; ads. seriously. i don’t want no OD+ crud being told to all of us from the OD+ members. there’s no reason for this. ads in the middle of the page, blocking entries. ads that expand and blocking “Leave Note” button. it’s really annoying. and see there’s many people that agree.

I just bought a one month od plus subscription. Why hasn’t my diary upgraded?

I just bought a one month od plus subscription. Why hasn’t my diary upgraded?

I just bought a one month od plus subscription. Why hasn’t my diary upgraded?

I didn’t mean to send my last note so many times lol. uh, my subscription number is:Subscription#S-6CT93993FM0798919 I guess that’s what you need. for some reason my subscription wasn’t upgraded, i ordered the month

June 27, 2010

Okay, I’m still having the same problem I first noted about on the 22nd. When I edit it to add in the rest of the entry and I post, I get the white screen: “The website cannot display the page. HTTP 500. Most likely causes: •The website is under maintenance. •The website has a programming error.” Then I find the entry is again truncated to the same number of characters. Why can’t I post??

June 27, 2010

Please respond soon. Not being able to post an entry is kind of a serious problem.

June 28, 2010

Still no change.

June 28, 2010

I also can’t post or edit entries. I contacted the help desk almost 15 hours ago, and despite receiving an auto generated email assuring me I would receive a reply “shortly,” I haven’t heard a peep.

Hi there! I keep receiving this note till now: As an anti-spam measure, new diaries can not post links for the first seven days. Click the button to go to The Open Diary home page, or your back button to return to where you came from. WHY? 7 days passed already! Your urgent help will be appreciated. Sam P.S. Kindly add: Boost CLub Member

Dear Mr. The Diray Master How are you doing? I trust this open message will find you in very good health and in high spirit. I am still encountering some technical problems while copying and pasting my daily entries.

Looking forward to hearing from you in the very near future. Your prompt action will be highly appreciated. Please do not forget to add OD Booster Club to my OD underneath my picture as done before at stillinlove. Sincerely yours, Sam Burton OD Booster Club OD Lover # 1

June 29, 2010

Problem solved with the aid of the help desk (first time I’ve ever had to use it – I was slow to remember it was there). :o)

A touch belated but hope you and yours had a great 4th. Keep up the great work here mate.

July 6, 2010

I am back giving full support to OD. How are you doing? Four new students of mine joined yesterday: Michael123456, Catherinebl, Julian09705 and Ryan82010. More in the very near future too. Sam Booster club Member

July 8, 2010

Friend Of All is back To its old shack Hope u r fine and well U r welcome to ring my bell I’m boosting OD at my work and now it is a must for every student of mine. OD will always be flourishing and blooming. Have a nice day! Sam Booster Club Member Very soon Lifetime member

July 17, 2010

I noticed that the amount of friends from Europe, Asia and Africa even Latin America are so few. So, we have to boost our OD there. One way to do that is to allow them to write in their own languages. Today, we tried to wite in Chinese, but we couldn’t. Well, what should we do to be able to write in other languages? By the way, r u on vacation? Have a super weekend! Sam

July 20, 2010

I’m almost ready to give up on OD. Everytime I log on here, it’s like 20 minutes to load a page. I don’t get it. I am able to download whole movies in an hour (1+gig). I stop all my downloads, and have nothing streaming, and still OD is the longest page to load. More than FoxNews, more than any other site I’ve been to. What gives?

July 21, 2010

Hi there! My colleague PANIC joined today. He is a very nice guy, I mean a good teacher. We work together to achieve a brighter goal. Have a good evening!

I wanted to let you know that one of our diarists, Rotor, passed away yesterday from cancer. I wrote an entry honoring him. I thank you so much for this place, because this is where we met. He became one of my best friends who I love with all of my heart. Bless you.

is it you i message about my privacy settings not working? I have it set to NOT let anyone note me unless it is signed and then today it happened again…I am sure it is by the same RUDE person, and I feel if they feel the need to note me RUDE things I should be able to make them have to sign there notes. I am sorry to bother you if this is not your job.

Hey DM!!! Long time no update! Hope all is well! ^_^

July 25, 2010

Hope you are well. This has been a rough year. Take care!

Just wanted to stop by and ask if you are going to make mention of the OD alternathon that is taking the place of Blogathon this year. There was a diary, named ODAHQ, made for the event. This Saturday the 31st at 6am PST. Hope you are well, we haven’t heard from you in a while.

July 27, 2010

I’ve been writing here ten years today. Reading since the first 6 months. Just wanted to thank you for all your hard work and for the inspiration of creating OD in the first place!

July 31, 2010

Your system does not recognize the password for http://www.opendiary.com/entrylist.asp?authorcode=D661851&mode=date . It seldom ever does work properly. It would be nice if someone there would fix this problem. I have complained about it repeatedly for years.

August 5, 2010

I know you have a lot of complaints to deal with, and this is just one more, but I must say, the ads that are dropping down over the diaries make it very hard to read them. I have had subscriptions to OD in the past, but right now, budget is tight, so I am a nonpaying member. I understand the need for ads, but is there any chance they could be made less obtrusive? Thanks.

August 6, 2010

Is there anyway to get rid of these roll-over ads that take up half my screen so that I can’t even read my favorites? It used to be they were just at the top but now they come flooding in from the sides, too. Not all of us can afford subscriptions and not all of us use credit or debit cards… I’m not the only one complaining, either…so please for the sake of my sanity…do something! thanks!

Hello. I was just wondering if there’s any work going on today? I’ve not been able to post an entry all night; I just keep getting an error message.

http://s874.photobucket.com/albums/ab307/evepaludan/?action=view&current=od_ad.jpg I’m not a plus member and your ad is in the middle of my screen, has no close X button and I can’t move it out of the way. can’t read notes or get access to post a picture. It’s awful.

I have now been unable to post for over 24 hours. I’ve now tried re-making my new diary and I’ve been on two computers at different connection points. Any ideas on what is going on here?

August 9, 2010

how do i change my settings

August 10, 2010

The process of adding/searching for interests is verily flawed, it’s ‘****ing stupid’ as the kids today might say. Long story short: it takes too long..go back to the old format..whatever that was. plz

August 11, 2010

Can I pay with my bank debit card or do I need to just send a check. I was in a coma for 6 months and became a widow in March.

August 11, 2010

wow its been a couple of months since we last heard anything! I guess that means things are running smoothly.. I hope your summer has been a grand one with lots of summer time fun 🙂

Hi, DM. Is there a reason why OD members (who aren’t registered to post on the boards) can no longer view the boards at all? I used to be able to view boards with no problem up until a few weeks ago. Now I get a message telling me that I have to log into my diary to view the boards (when I already am logged in).

We have not heard from you in awhile, hope everything is well! Keep up the great work!

August 19, 2010

I have not heard from you in a while. U have not answered all my messages. I really hope everything is well! Keep up the great work!

August 20, 2010

Hi there! How are you doing? This is Ruby. I am a young lady from China. Dr. Sam Burton helped me join OD today. I am really indebted to him. I like OD a lot and I hope to be a regular writer. Thank you for your efforts. Ruby

August 20, 2010

Hi! Today Ruby11 joined OD. She is a gorgeous young lady from China. Ruby another addition to the long list of names who joined OD recently. Do hope they will be regular writers at OD. Doing my best to BOOST our lovely OD. Have a nice weekend!

Where have you been? Is everything ok? Seriously, people are concerned because you haven’t been around. I know a few people were surprised that you didn’t support them during this years Blogathon. Especially since they had to form their own at the last minute. That doesn’t seem like you. I hope that everything is ok.

Wow you get a lot of complaints in your note section even though you make it clear that people need to use the Help link & contact the Admins. Someone even asked if they could pay with their debt card. Upgrading clearly states how you can pay. I think I would stay away as well.

I just wanted to stop by and say thanks for everything you do for us. I’ve read so many mean comments on facebook and through out OD since its been back up, its frustrating to me. Things happen that are not in people’s control and they automatically blame and freak out. I appreciate OD more than I can put into any words personally, but I do know things also happen that aren’t anyone’s fault, including how quickly they are told about it. Thanks to you and all the people that keep this website running 🙂 ♥

August 25, 2010

thank you.

August 25, 2010

Hi, Just wondering why site was down for almost 24 hours? Aug 24-25 2010 Your friendly neighborhood OD addict 😉

Diary Master: Open Diary was down for 24 hours. Now it is up and running, but there is not one word on the Home Page or on your diary with an explanation or apology. I think that when there is an outage, an email blast should be sent to all diarists….. especially the PAYING diarists….. informing us of what has occured and then send us subsequent emails with updates. <br> And yes, I know people change their email addresses often. But then that is our fault as members to not update our information on our diary profile. As a paying member for 10 years, I do not think this is an unacceptable request.

August 25, 2010
August 25, 2010

Wow. After leaving my original name only note and having kinda skimmily read some of your other notes you have quite the notes to respond to. And I thought I felt overwhelmed whenever I get more then a few notes despite the fact that I love them. I don’t envy the responsibility on your shoulders. Lol. Quite the blast of notes.

October 22, 2010

🙂