Orange cookies and looking for volunteers

Ever since my Grandma Olive died many years ago, DiaryMistress has taken on what was her holiday tradition, making her special Orange Cookie recipe for the family (especially for my mother, who is extremely fond of them). Picture above is from last night, the output of her baking – I helped a little by putting on the frosting. As always, they turned out delicious. DiaryMistress is a wonderful cook and baker, but even she admits that this is a labor of love every year – but we are glad this morning that it is done (and I can have cookies for breakfast)!

We have been very busy working on updates and changes to OD this week, there is a lot going on and a number of changes coming soon that people have been asking for.

One thing that we were having a lot of trouble with is that AOL (and some other email providers) were not delivering our emails. There are a lot of reasons for this, but we are testing out a service that delivers for us and guarantees that the mail gets through. This is where the volunteers mentioned above come in.

If you are using and AOL.com email address, could you do us a huge favor? I’d like to see if they will deliver our password reset email, which seems to be the most problematic. If you have an AOL address, and you’d be willing to help, please try this:

  1. Log out of your diary.
  2. Click on the Log In link at the top right.
  3. Click the Forgot Password link instead of logging in.
  4. This will take you to a screen where you can type in your email address (the AOL.com one) and send yourself a password reset email.
  5. Let us know if you receive the email, either here in a note or by contacting Support from the bottom of the page.
  6. You DON’T have to actually click the link in the email and reset your password – you can just delete the email and keep your current password – we just want to know if you actually receive it.

If anybody can do the above, thanks!

Also, I was glad to see so many people write for this week’s Theme : If you could pick any place in the world to live, where would it be?

I just want to add – if you want to be sure that everybody can see your entry with the other Theme of the Week entries, be sure to go to the bottom of your entry and add the “TOTW1” tag. There’s information on how to do that in my entry here: Theme of the Week 1.

If you tag your entry that way, it will show up on the tag page for all of the Theme entries.

Thanks again everybody, for all you are doing to help us try out the site!

Log in to write a note
December 16, 2017

This is exciting if you were a long-time OD user and haven’t found anything else that compares.

December 16, 2017

YUMMY!! I want some, lol~!! I wish I could help, but , I have gmail. lol. sorry. Thank you and your staff for everything. It’s really coming together!! 🙂

December 16, 2017

Do you share the recipe for orange cookies? They look delicious!

December 17, 2017

OMG!!! Those orange cookies look grand!!! Could you share the recipe?

As for the help, sorry, I haven’t used AOL in what seems like forever. Could it have anything to do with AOL shutting down its instant messaging?

*tx
December 17, 2017

I have aol mail. I did as you requested here but haven’t received a password reset e-mail

*tx
December 17, 2017

Could you please tell me how to do a name search? I thought I saw it at one time but forgot where I saw it at I guess. Are y’all going to have a help page for these kinds of questions? That would be awesome.

December 18, 2017

Hi @tx, the name search is offline right now for some updates – we should have it online soon!

December 18, 2017

I didn’t even know that AOL still existed. Good luck with the testing

December 18, 2017

As I don’t have an AOL email address and am always happy to help out, might I suggest taking volunteers to test out the cookies? I would be happy to oblige.

December 18, 2017

Hold on, AOL still exists? People still use it? Really??

December 19, 2017

Mmm please share the recipe!

December 19, 2017

Cookies look fabulous.  Beautiful job!  My first day back on OD.  Thank you so much for starting it up again.  Much respect.  Sandra aka minnie58 😀

December 22, 2017

I’ve never heard of orange cookies. they look good