Freaking Bake Sale

I called in sick on Friday. I just felt drained and dizzy and I didn’t think I would make it through the day. I didn’t do much this weekend, I stayed in my pajammies for most of it – until my back was sore from laying around too much, so I went to the pool thinking that would be good for my body, which it was. Just the fact that it was only about 69 degrees outside so the water was ice cold. I got used to it after a few minutes.

Katherine’s biological father has been contacting me for help … he is back in jail on some “bogus” charge for not getting his ID updated. I call bull shit but I am too freaking kind hearted. I put some money in to an account to talk to him and more money on his books so he could get food from the commissary. He had me text his “fiance” who hasn’t given him a dime or even bothered to see him or even write him a letter. She told me to tell him ” I suck at letters and I don’t have tabs for the vehicle so I will see him when he gets out.” So I’ve been looking into his glasses prescriptions, talking to his lawyer and playing middle man for the conversations with his lady.

The thing is now he is saying he is going to move back to Minnesota (He went back to Texas as soon as he got out last time. It’s where his family is.) so he can be closer to Katherine – Who doesn’t really want anything to do with him, but I think that’s just been because he hasn’t ever been around. I always said I would leave the line open but we have all really moved on. I have been married to Nick for 5 years. Kat will turn 15 in December. He video called me on Thursday right before the end of my shift & stepped outside to answer it. I had forgotten how blue his eyes are … but if you look in the dictionary under smooth talker you will find his picture. He will say anything you want to hear to get what he wants. But truth be told I don’t think its a good idea for him to come back up here. I figure, even with everything he is saying, that he will get out, go back to his dope smoking girlfriend and ignore me completely. But that is probably for the best.

I completely forgot there is a bake sale tomorrow and Wednesday – which blows because its cold and rainy and I just want to snuggle into bed but now I have to go home and bake cookies.

Log in to write a note
August 26, 2019

cookies? I have 1/2 a ginger cake…want to trade?

August 26, 2019

Hm, I think you’re being too nice. But I know it’s a tough position you’re in because he’s the biological father. What you wrote made me think of my sister. She got pregnant by a guy when she lived in St Louis and then she moved away. The guy has done the minimum. Like he’ll call his daughter once a year, maybe. She’s 13 now. They had an agreement that instead of child support, he could save the money and fly out to visit his daughter. It never happened. It was very difficult for my niece. My sister moved to Atlanta which is somewhat close to St. Louis. So the guy has seen his daughter a couple of times. I have always said that I want him to make up his mind. Either act like a father and be in her life or go away, because this half ass shit is not good for my niece. Anyway that’s what I thought of when I read about your daughter’s biological father.

August 29, 2019

@heffay I agree. Pick one or the other – don’t bounce around like a balloon.