National Hot Dog Day

I picked up about 70 hot dogs, 70 buns, 5 bags of chips and we had 12 packs of pop left over from the last picnic. I set it all up on 2 carts in the nurses station and man was it a hit. Of course the roaster I had them in blew a fuse so the whole buildings network went down for about 15 minutes … but people liked it. I think it’s best when we do something simple. When we do things like picnic’s they will be like “Where is the _______?” Or taco salad bar … “Where is the guac?” Not really thankful for all the time and energy (and money) that goes into things like that. This took me 20 minutes to set up, the hot dogs were on sale so it only cost about 36 dollars and people were happy.

Today was pay day, and with all the bonuses and overtime it was the biggest paycheck I have ever had in my 18 years of working here. I paid off all my bills and still had 200 more than I would have gotten without any overtime. So I finally bit the bullet and booked a vacation for Nick and myself. On my birthday in October, we are going to Las Vegas baby.

I don’t think we’ve ever took a honeymoon, unless you count camping for a couple days by apple river. But for the 2 of us, flight and hotel for 3 nights was $338 dollars. Originally, I wanted to be down there for my birthday (which is a Friday this year.) and the weekend but that was closer to $800 so we are leaving on Tuesday and coming home on Friday. But our plane doesn’t leave until midnight on the Friday so I can still enjoy my day. I almost wasn’t going to do it. Told Nick we didn’t need to go anywhere. He was all:

BUT BAAAAAAAAAABE!!!

So I did it. Actually I was about to click “Book the trip” when that fuse blew and my screen went black. I took it as a sign. But when it came back on, all my information was still ready and sitting there. 6 more paychecks until I leave (3 of which are rent checks). If I keep doing these doubles, which it looks like I am needed for the foreseeable future, I should be able to save up enough. I have been there before, and I don’t really gamble. I prefer to go down to Fremont street and dance. Just dance, like no one else is there. Feel the music pounding in my chest. It doesn’t matter if I don’t know the words or if people think I don’t have moves … That’s what I like to do. Nick is excited to play in a poker tournament.

Gigi and the night receptionist are going at the end of October for her birthday … She wanted to go at the same time, and I kinda did too. The poker thing with Nick will bore me, and his crippled legs don’t allow him to do much dancing. She wasn’t even going to be at the same hotel … we could just bump into each other sometimes. But Nick wanted no part of that. Just us two.

I’ve lost 53 pounds in the last 3 months (well yesterday was the 3 month mark.) and if I lose a couple more before the trip, I am going to do the zip-line down Fremont! I am! I’ll be brave! Fearless!

So I have goals.

In other news, I have a 5 day weekend coming up in August for Nick and my 5th wedding anniversary. Not sure what we are doing yet, but he’s happy as long as I am home.

I am doing a walk for Alzheimers in September.

Feels like its been a musty and tired summer. I’m feeling good knowing I have some things to look forward to.

 

Log in to write a note
July 17, 2019

So glad you booked the trip! You’ll have a lot of fun. I know I would prefer the dancing, because a lot of the time I just lose money and it brings me down. Congrats on the weightloss! I hope you get to do the zip line. …and you’re not the only one who thinks it’s been a tired summer. It’s been cloudy and misty every day this week.

July 18, 2019

@lotussangues I definitely do not want to come home broke. I feel like for every sunny day there has been 6 rainy ones.

July 17, 2019

Now I want a hot dog! Your trip sounds like tons of fun. How did you lose the weight?

July 18, 2019

Keto! I don’t eat more than 5 carbs a day and no real sugar. Meat and veggies. It probably helps I walk to work. 🙂 @bonnierose

July 17, 2019

you think you will post pictures of you zip lining?  I hope you have a blast and Happy Early birthday….

July 18, 2019

@jaythesmartone Thanks! If I zipline, I will post it! 🙂