Log in to write a note
May 19, 2020

Very interesting. Thanks for posting this.

Also interesting that the young man, Benjamin, has created so many jobs for people in his area.

May 19, 2020

@adrift – Indeed. It’s beautiful on a multitude of levels 🙂

May 19, 2020

@thenerve  I agree.

May 19, 2020

Now that’s a funeral! I love this.

May 20, 2020

Beautiful and inspiring! What a way to lift your spirits!! I was immediately reminded of the jazz funerals in New Orleans where I grew up.  There funerals can be both a joyous celebration of the life of the departed or a mournful and sad occasion.  I’ve seen both.

May 21, 2020

@oswego – Where I grew up, the day of the funeral is always solemn, but every year-versary it’s a party at the graveyard. They’re SERIOUS about it too: they come in and arrange their grave *days* before with flowers, sculptures, and on the day of the anniversary, they bring food, tables, more flowers, singing bands, lights, booze, and they go from day to night in a bona fide party. This is repeated on the day of the dead as well, so each dead gets two parties a year, basically 🙂

It just warms my heart that someone can do a FUNERAL with such gaiety, sending their loved one off with such love and good vibes, instead of sadness, which must be one hell of a load upon the loved one’s shoulders as they try taking off to their new plane of existence…

May 27, 2020

@thenerve funeral anagram: real fun.  For what it’s worth.  I’m impartial on the matter.

May 27, 2020

@elcreature – Oooooh, nice!

May 26, 2020