Mom’s Dementia (Hippie at heart)

Ah, 2020.  We will never forget you. Or forgive you for that matter.

Today my sister took our mom to a CT scan with lots of pre-procedure instructions that Mom can no longer understand or follow.

Why I am agreeing to this is a whole ‘nother post.

Before it began, my sister helped Mom remove her bra which had metal clasps in it — not ok for the scan, but we both agreed to just get Mom out of assisting living quarantine to the appointment ON TIME and deal with the clothes she chose later.

After it was finished, Sis asked Mom if they could go to somewhere private to remove Mom’s shirt and put the bra back on. Mom said no, she was ok.  Tech at the hospital said to my sister “You’ld be surprised at how many patients choose to leave without being fully dressed.”

Mom heard all of this and declared:

“I spent most of the ’60’s not wearing a bra!”

I informed my sister that was only 50% or less true.  I have plenty of photos of her wearing a bra.

Mom: Hippie at heart.  (Me too!)

Log in to write a note
July 22, 2020

A very sweet story! Hope your Mom is okay.

*tx
July 22, 2020

Me too

Hippie at heart. Good ole braless days!

I took care of my mother who also eventually came to have dementia. It’s a sad world for them but also many moments of joy as well.