Revelation

First-World-Problem Complaint: After a long day of not getting anything I originally intend to do done today because I was searching online and emailing questions to all of those involved regarding the next choices for our Dream House being built; and after scrambling dinner with Hubby’s help at a very late hour after being interrupted by all of the first Building interruptions plus my sister plus my best friend-in-response-to-a-ticket-date; and then after watching a couple of mutually enjoyed shows with Hubby, as I sat down to watch a favorite show by myself… my mind wandered.

So many people have praised me for my positive attitude throughout my very recent 3-year breast cancer journey.  It has seemed pretty easy for me to be positive.  I have credited it to many people with the words my first cousin, a breast cancer surgeon, who said to me (right after I told my husband that I had cancer, and then I called her): “E: You are 100% going to survive this, but it will INCONVIENCE your life!”  This turned out to be the truest of all statements.  (I recommend that you say this to all of your newly-diagnosed friends.)

But tonight, I realized that cancer was the third time I had confronted a profound emotional impasse.  Not my first crises.  I seem to have always chosen to embrace hope.  Not even counting whatever happened in my childhood, for which we probably all have a few examples.

Log in to write a note
February 23, 2022

*applauds you* Being positive in adversity is key. 🙂

February 23, 2022

I’ve always said hope is what got me through one of the most difficult times in my life.