Thoughts on God

I’ve been thinking lately on God. Particularly, last night the thought came to me again as to how useless life on this planet and elsewhere would be without some less temporary end. What’s more, I still find myself believing in the Christian god.

Although I have doubts often enough, most of such doubts (not all) are spawned by the lack of the Church. Like other things that come of Man, the Church is chock full of problems. For instance, often churches fall into consumerism. Instead of giving all that is possible in service of God, so often God-followers don’t follow God at all. Religion then becomes an excuse to follow self.

What’s more, as I’ve discussed elswhere, I come to the issue of suffering. For me, the presence of suffering is in many ways adequately explained as ultimately being the fault of Man and a result of the Fall (ask me, if you like).

My primary issue is not as to what causes suffering though, but as to why it was permitted in the first place. Why would God (being without need), knowing of the sacrifice that would be involved in getting the saved into Heaven, still create Man. I say this in regards to the many who fall short. Are the saved so valuable as to be worth such a cost? What purpose do the saved then have ahead of them?

I’m reminded of Saving Private Ryan; was Private Ryan’s life worth what was lost?

Log in to write a note