This is why Canada has the gun laws we do

Surely even Americans have heard of the Calgary Stampede. It’s a week long celebration of cowboys and cowboy life–rodeos, bronco riding, bullriding, chuckwagon races and all that good stuff. You may also know that, by and large, Canadians are a friendly lot, generally polite and welcoming. So along comes this redneck from Kalamazoo–an off-duty police officer who felt nekkid in Canuckistan without his off-duty firearm, but you see, we don’t let people bring guns across the border. Good thing, too.

Read this excerpt of a letter this man wrote to the Calgary Herald. He was badly frightened in Calgary by the event he recounts in his letter when two strange men approached him and his wife in a park in broad daylight and accosted them in an aggressive manner. He wished he had had his gun with him, and I don’t doubt he would have pulled it on these two to defend himself and his wife, but read the story in his own words:

Recently, while out for a walk in Nose Hill Park, in broad daylight on a paved trail, two young men approached my wife and me. The men stepped in front of us, then said in a very aggressive tone: “Been to the Stampede yet?”

We ignored them. The two moved closer, repeating: “Hey, you been to the Stampede yet?

I quickly moved between these two and my wife, replying, “Gentle-men, I have no need to talk with you, goodbye.” They looked bewildered, and we then walked past them.

I speculate they did not have good intentions when they approached in such an aggressive, disrespectful and menacing manner. I thank the Lord Jesus Christ they did not pull a weapon of some sort, but rather concluded it was in their best interest to leave us alone.

Would we not expect a uniformed officer to pull his or her weapon to intercede in a life-or-death encounter to protect self, or another? Why then should the expectation be lower for a citizen of Canada or a visitor?

This is where I turn vulgar. Dude–are you fucking serious? This would be like being in Orlando and having a local ask "Have you been to Disneyworld yet?" Any readers here see any aggression in the question? How about if I mention the two savages in the park were Stampede promoters handing out free tickets? Anyone surprised that they looked bewildered by his response? Let’s go back to Orlando and play this out: Been to Disneyworld yet? –no response– maybe they’re deaf. A little louder then : Hey! You been to Disneyworld yet? –I have no need to talk to you. Goodbye!– Dafuq just happened? Can you imagine how this might have played out if he HAD had his gun with him? For God’s sake, if you’re in Kalamazoo, don’t walk on anyone’s lawn or #NoseHillGentleman might shoot you.

See, it’s people like him that make Canadians roll our eyes and shake our heads about some of our neighbours to the south. We KNOW that most Americans aren’t this loosely tied to sanity, but we FEAR that they are. If you think I’ve lost my marbles, and this letter is a hoax, Google #NoseHillGentleman, or Walt Wawra, and shake your head in dismay. He should really stay home in his basement with his yard sandbagged, if he’s that afraid of being approached by strangers. AND HE’S A COP! For fuck sake, don’t ask him for directions! He’ll shoot you in the face, praising Jesus the whole time. Save me from "Christians" who haven’t a clue how to treat people and save me from people who, like Mad-Eye Moody, can’t tell the difference between a handshake and attempted murder.

My mind is boggled.

**EDIT to add: How do we think this same cop would feel about an off-duty RCMP officer carrying an off-duty weapon in Kalamazoo? I’m thinking he wouldn’t care for tourists carrying guns, although that’s what he wants for himself in Canada. Stay the hell home, you crazy-ass bastard.

 

Log in to write a note
gel
August 10, 2012

I think I want to move to Canada.

August 10, 2012

gosh, how many people are dead after a polite welcoming question to another. Shocking

August 10, 2012

That’s scary!! I am glad we have the gun laws we have in Australia.. Dont care what anyone says it makes a difference and I feel safer. You cant stop the crazies from getting hold of them but is certainly a deterent for a lot of possible avoidable situations such as this one.. I get shooting targets etc as a sport but as a weapon in everyday use.. never.

August 10, 2012

American here, and I agree with you 100%. I once saw a woman drop her phone without noticing, so I picked it up and called out to her — all she did was start walking faster. I had to chase her, and she was terrified when I caught up to her. And I’m another woman — can’t imagine what her response to a man would have been. Or if she’d been armed, god forbid. Here in Arizona it is getting moreand more common to see men walking around openly armed with handguns. I can smell the tragedy waiting to happen.

August 10, 2012

o_OVerily, my country needs to institute a GDB: Gross Domestic Bat**** index.And Nekkid in Canuckistan would make a kickass book (or movie) title.

August 11, 2012

They do have some funny ideas about all kinds of things in the US, religion and guns being two of them. In the UK, I think most people still can’t work out why Americans are so shocked by large-scale gun crime when so many of them quite legally carry guns. To us, the link seems quite obvious!

August 12, 2012

stupid assed merri-cans… i saw a period of life where one guy i know very well got interested in guns. wanted to be a hunter and loved the idea he could be a real cowboy if he so wanted. even got mad that he could not buy the real-rifle that he wanted, because it was a military gun, and had to settle for the next one on his list of dream-guns to own. it was a killing rifle and he took itat least once with him on a hunting trip. he bagged a little animal with it. finally he grew up and we moved the guns out of the house. thank god. now we keep a heavy baseball bat by the front door for a defense weapon…. can you imagine wearing one of those at your waist? i don’t think guns kill people. and i don’t think JUst people kill people. guns and people kill people. sometimes by mistake.

I know I want to move to Canada. American chest beaters, righteous lot. We kill more people in this country than any other civilized nation. It’s bad. Hubby and I were in Calgary for the Winter Classic, and that was for our 34th wedding anniversary…Yep, in my heart I’m a Canadian. GO FLAMES!! That is if the season ever gets under way this year. Namaste~

November 17, 2012

I’m about as anti-gun as you can get. My father said his mother said it was best to leave hunting and fishing for the Indians. Of course that was a while ago. The terrible thing about guns for self-defense is that people think they are avoiding violence by being armed. Kinda like the Cold War. They were wrong both times.