Slow-Hurry Becomes Snow-Flurry

Yeah, well here I am again.

My favorite trees died.  The front yard is a mess.

The house in town still hasn’t got floors.

I had to run away from home for about 4 days because the beautiful fall weather was not going to last. I had to go it alone. That’s becoming common. The spouslings are all off doing young man stuff. The Hubbin is growly moody unsatisfied full of seasonal affective.

The upside is I got to see my Uncle and Aunt who I never see as they were up in my neck of the woods for a football game. The son of a cousin by marriage playing senior night last game. What are they like? Big belt buckles (the kind you get from climbing onto a real live bull and playing bouncy flippy) and shooting irons and names like Buck and Tex and… too many of them to keep track.

The school mascot is a Badger.

It was nice to see Uncle who is that mix of tough (he’s made it this far) and frightening frail but still him. I adore my aunt because she adores him, no put-on.

The next day they were gone again, and I roamed the town where everyone was so damn nice, and the day was beautiful, and I parked out in the wildlife refuge to scribble scribble while a bald eagle and a floofy coyote were my only companions. You could do worse.

Sure enough, the day I left was steady rain. Watched my last Canadian Pacific train for the season. Discovered an app that tells me where tiny libraries are and oh golly what you find when you chase that rabbit!

My bestie lost one of her dogs a week ago. Sad. Then they got another dog who looked promising until Monday when she was peeling him off the other pup and herself. What a disaster. I picked her up at the Urgent Care (not a good scene) while her mate dealt with a damaged dog and a dangerous dog. She and Pup#1 will recover but ugh!

First snow of the year. I called that one right. NaNoWriMo is right around the corner. Clearing my schedule as much as I can to go down and lock myself in the Dharma Bunker. This year will be a bit different. MY word count will consist of scooping up the piles of nouns and verbs cluttering my desk and screaming them into digital goodness. Ice water and throat lozenges. Weather can do what it wants. I’m dressing up and on a schedule for this like it’s a major sporting event.

Log in to write a note
October 25, 2023

Glad you got to see the fall foliage.

 

……..ugh on the first snow.  I am so not ready for that

October 28, 2023

Good for you for celebrating Autumn and making wonderful discoveries.  I love this!