Sugaring in Full Swing

I’m feeling pretty good after getting over the sinus problem.  I got out on my skis several times this month but I’ve only been to the gym once. I’ve got a lingering sore throat (probably from allergies) but that’s it. So, my energy level is back near normal. I’ve been spending too much time surfing the net in the morning when I should be getting on with my day. It feels like I’m wasting my life away when I do that.

We’ve hit the peak of the maple sugaring season. The sap will be running every day for the next couple of weeks so that will require most of my energy and time. Brother Gerry, who has been house sitting mom’s place since Feb, has carried the lion’s share of the work collecting sap up to this point. He’ll return home on Wed and it will fall on me again. He’ll still come out daily to help but the early morning and late evening work will be up to me. Around mid April the trees will bud and then the season is over. It can happen early with significantly warmer temperatures but there is nothing in the forecast. We need these two weeks in order to come close to last year’s syrup total.

Tuesday is my 61st birthday and we’ll be boiling so Diane planned a potluck gathering for the evening. She ordered a cake and got ice cream too. It won’t be a large crowd but it will be a fun evening. Mom returns Wed morning from her Florida vacation. I need to pick her up at the airport (30 min away). Then I need to turn around and head back down to have my root canal job finished. The pain in the tooth is virtually gone. There is some sensitivity to cold air but not much different than the other teeth. I also notice slight aches in the morning. Perhaps I clench my teeth during the night.

Diane has been having trouble sleeping during the past week and a half. She’s being kept up by the “energy” sensations that have plagued her for years. She’s takes a Sonata now and that seems to help but it doesn’t work every night like the Ambien did.  I’m a little concerned that this could be a return of her depression. I’m holding off on planning and scheduling our Europe trip for now.

Namaste

Log in to write a note
March 26, 2018

I call it “getting caught in the quagmire” or “down the rabbit hole” when I find myself spending too much time in cyberspace.

Sugaring sounds like such an exciting fun time there. I would love to see pics if you are able to post.

Happy 61st tomorrow! Namaste to you.

March 26, 2018

Collecting sap in your own forest sounds wonderful.  Love that self sustainability stuff!