The Importance of Text Notifications

I got an early start this morning and I was glad, the gym was practically empty. I did my whole workout promptly, had my hydro massage, and headed home without further delay so Reed and I could have our walk to the farmer’s market.

It was raining, of course, but we put on our rain jackets and hats and walked in it anyway. We got two types of honey at the market, a combination honey of different types and a sweet, marshmallowy one I forgot the name of. We also got baked goods (I had a maple, apple, and pecan scone) and I picked up some chicken bone broth from a very nice broth seller who makes the amazing warm delicious bone broth. I thought it might be nice and nutritious for cold winter days.

We stopped at the antique store and BOOM. There were three original framed Lord of the Rings movie posters for sale and the guy offered Reed a great deal on them just so he didn’t have to keep tripping over them. Once we got home I took the car back and picked them up, and also stopped at the store to grab a few things. Michal was annoying so I stupidly TURNED OFF my text notifications.

Reed and I then spent the entire afternoon rearranging furniture, making dozens of adorable tea sandwiches in two different types, setting up trays, putting out snack bowls, and setting up everything we needed for our DnD night. Once we had done all this we sat down to rest until our guests arrived and I checked my text messages only to see Caspar had texted four hours previously to say they may not be able to make it.

This was extremely aggravating and typical of most of my flaky friends, but we told them that was fine and we could get together tomorrow hopefully since everything is already set up and we have dozens of sandwiches in our fridge, several of which we had for dinner.

So Reed and I spent our evening eating tea sandwiches and watching The Pale Blue Eye, which turned out to be pretty nuts and not necessarily good. I went for my after dinner walk listening to the next Cadfael book and now I am ready for bed. Felt a bit melancholy today. And a bit yesterday.

Log in to write a note