Here’s a question for you to ponder

Every weekday morning, I listen to James O’Brien.  I always did listen to Mystery Hour (which is also available as a podcast, which I highly recommend you listen to), but I found I was basically listening to most of his shows from being posted other places so just started listening live.

Earlier this week, he had a really interesting topic under discussion.  It’s about a blood test that you can have which could diagnose Altzheimers 20 years before you get it.

So, the question was: bearing in mind that at the moment there is no cure for the disease, would you get the test?  Would you be willing to live your life knowing you will get something that may not be cured?

For my part, the answer is yes.  Even though I may not be cured, they might be able to use me while I’m alive to develop a cure for future generations, which is a good thing to do.

I will say that I don’t think there is a particular right or wrong answer to this question.  I’m not going to judge you if your answer is different to mine because it is something that, at the core, is incredibly personal.

So, what would you do?

Will

Log in to write a note
August 7, 2019

Question? isn’t there one of those ancestry or DNA things you can also do to find out what else you might or might not get and wouldn’t it be cheaper?  But if I had the money I would certainly do it and also isn’t it hereditary?

August 7, 2019

@jaythesmartone yeah, but this test will supposedly tell you for absolute certainty if you will or wont get the disease.  Not just if there’s a possibility

August 7, 2019

@williamthebloody well I would get it, especially if I thought it was genetic.

August 7, 2019

I wouldn’t take the test.

kat
August 7, 2019

knowing early there are many things you can do to slow it and help the mind.

August 8, 2019

Yes, I would have the test and I would hope that my husband would do it, too. His mother was a dementia patient and it was hell. I think we’d want to know so that we could make plans for the future and accommodations for the caregiving.

August 10, 2019

I’m unsure if I would take the test… but it’s something to think about.