Imagine the disturbance at the time of the occurrence

I may love snow, doesn’t mean I can’t have fun with it at the same time.

Meanwhile, in Geordieland:

I’ve finally watched all the nominees for the Best Picture Oscar this year.  Here’s my capsule review of the films I didn’t review before:

Call Me by Your Name: This is a very lovely, very sweet little film.  It’s also utterly unmemorable.

Darkest Hour: Wasn’t a fan.  It’s really not as good as it thinks it is, and there’s some very odd cinematography choices.

Dunkirk: Every great filmmaker has a war film and this is Nolans.  Fantastic, but the structure can get a bit confusing.

Phantom Thread: Good, but not great.  Being a Paul Thomas Anderson film, that still means it’s better than a lot of other films, but it’s about in the middle of his filmography.

The Post: No.  Just, no.  Not a fan.  I didn’t really know what was happening a lot of the time, the rest of the time I didn’t much care.  Thinks it’s more important that it is.  If it wasn’t Spielberg, it likely wouldn’t be on this list.

I’ll give my predictions about awards later, when I’ve watched the rest of the films nominated for other awards.

I’m thinking of dying my hair again.  If I can find a applicator bottle, I’ll probably go green finally.

Theresa May is prattling on about what she wants for us leaving the EU (which still shouldn’t be happening).  I wonder how long it’ll take the EU to shoot her down this time?

I’m hoping that the Diary Master/the engineering department gets us the ability to sort friends list by latest entry soon.  It’s a bit annoying trying to remember which entries I’ve already read so i can read the new stuff.

Payday tomorrow.  Yay!

Will

Log in to write a note
March 2, 2018

Thanks for your take on the above films – hope to finish watching Phantom Thread over weekend. Also, a wee request for some help/info: how do you get a photograph in your entry? Do you have to have a paid subscription? All the best, ~A~

March 2, 2018

@ainetheon yeah, as soon as you subscribe, there’ll be buttons above the box for writing the entry saying Add Media and set Featured Image (in the case of this entry, that’s the polar bear picture)

March 2, 2018

@williamthebloody – ta muchly.

March 2, 2018

Ack. I haven’t even seen one of those. Still watching the Oscars though.

March 2, 2018

Being a fan of WWII history, I had some historical problems with Dunkirk, but still liked it very much. Can’t say I’ve seen any of the other ones 🙁

We are actually working on the friends list sorted by latest entry – it should be released very soon!

March 3, 2018

I’m really frustrated that I STILL can’t just see all of my old entries in a chronological list. The fact that I can’t easily archive my old diary the way I want to is putting me off being proactive with this new one.

Out of those films the only one I have seen in Dunkirk, which I didn’t enjoy much because for some reason I had a hard time tracking who was who.

March 3, 2018

@rodge That was my main problem with the structure. made it hard to work out who was who