Shpedoinkle!

The pic is nicked from the FB page for my gym and is the swimming pool I use.  On the left is the jacuzzi.  They call it a spa, but it’s a fucking jacuzzi.  The bit benched off is the steam room, sauna and the shower for them.  They’re, for obvious reasons, off limits at the moment.  I just thought I’ve talked a lot about swimming here, you might like to see where it happens.

The course went well.  On the Monday, the tutor was off.  So we did workbook stuff until midday, went to get our free packed lunch then home.  On the Tuesday, we were off, so I had a lazy day at home.  Wednesday was the food safety course, which I hopefully passed.  Thursday was a race to catch up on what we missed (we were supposed to do stuff at home on the Tuesday but, well…)  Friday was finishing up.  I also came home with four bags of crisps as I was the only person who liked the flavour we all got.

Last week, well, read my last two entries.

My slow cooker died on Monday, so I’ve just bought myself a new one.  I was planning to get another 1.5 litre one, but only one place had one and there were plenty of places that had 3.5 litre ones for a couple of quid more.  I had sort of been thinking about getting a bigger one, so I said sod it and did so.

I did see one I was tempted by where the outside is a chalk board, but I’d never use that bit, so I didn’t bother.

Tomorrow, I’m christening the new one with white wine garlic chicken.

Last weekend, I made paella for the first time:

It was gorgeous.

I’ve got an addition to my wall of music:

It’s a signed Emily Barker print that I got with her new album, A Dark Murmuration of Words.  I’ve been a fan of hers since I saw her supporting Frank Turner on tour, so it was an easy buy and the album is absolutely gorgeous.  Highly recommend it.  This isn’t a song from her album, but it’s the first song of hers I heard.  It’s about Sister Rosetta Tharpe:

(And I’ve just discovered that if you paste a youtube link directly into the editor window, it automatically adds the video for you.)

Tonight, I’m going to see The New Mutants, just so I can have the ticket stub to prove it was actually released.

Monday, someone is coming round to do a gas safety check.  They could have done it yesterday, but they didn’t contact me on Thursday to set it up until about 11pm which pissed me off, so fuck him.

Have to go put the washing on.

Will

Log in to write a note
September 5, 2020

I’ve got laundry going, too.

Will you post the recipe for white wine garlic chicken?

September 5, 2020

@williamthebloody This sounds really good. Gonna try it, but with chicken leg quarters and dry vermouth.

kat
September 5, 2020

jacuzzi is only a brand name for a hot tub

I would never ever use a public hot tub again as I know how they are cleaned and the little chemicals that can be used

September 5, 2020

Nice pool, is it a warm one or cold?

September 6, 2020

@ailurophileforever warm.  Well, unless you go from the jacuzzi to the pool, then it’s cold

September 6, 2020

@williamthebloody LOL! Cool. At the Ray Twinney Complex it’s the same.

September 5, 2020

This is why I’m a “hippee” I prefer oceans with no chemicals at all. Pools and hot tubs are a chemical bath!

September 5, 2020

Have you ever thought about getting an instant pot?

https://www.google.com/search?q=instant+pot&oq=instant+pot&aqs=chrome..69i57j0l7.3885j0j7&sourceid=chrome&ie=UTF-8

September 5, 2020

@jaythesmartone I’ve got an instant pot.  I’d much prefer having a separate slow cooker as well

September 7, 2020

Having a slow cooker, rice cooker,& instant pot I still have a weird affection for my oven even when it must be too hot for that.

Gosh, I miss floating on my back while toes turn to prune. Everything such a hassle now.