Dark Early Morning

I haven’t the foggiest idea why I’m awake right now, on the computer, surfing the internet, no less.  I feel tired.. my eyes are heavy.. aching a bit.  Yet every time I lie down on the couch and try to sleep, my brain won’t shut off.

I think my thoughts have been set into overdrive with my sudden compulsion to mend the old, burnt bridges of my past.

It’s all thanks to those two kids from work today.. yes, I mentioned them in my last post.

I tried searching (fruitlessly) for some old diaries… old friends who have passed out of sight and mind for the past year or so.  I return from my search unvictorious, as you may well guess.

Whoever “you” are.

I tried IMing an old friend from high school tonight.  I wanted to tell him of my most current goal, which I assumed he would be interested in.  I decided that I’m going to make a book of my poetry.  I will not go sending it off to some publishing company that will make me shell out a few hundred to do it.. oh, no.  I’m going to make it myself!

Yes.. cower in fear.

I have access to everything I need.. the computer.. the book binding materials I need (thanks to friends who are far more into arts and crafts than myself).  I just need to find the poems again.

Why would this old friend care?

Well.. he told me, in a note in my high school yearbook, that he expected me to have a book of poetry within ten years.  So getting it done within three or fours years of that command seems something worthy of bothering him with.

I fear he is asleep, however.  Damn late hours.  I’m always the most sociable at this point.  Everyone else is off sleeping, and here I am wanting to chat on the phone, or hold some semblance of a meaningful IM conversation.

Ah well.  More cruising about for me, I believe.

Log in to write a note
October 30, 2004

I sympathize. I often find myself in the wee hours feeling wistful for people who have dropped off my radar and wanting to call and speak to anyone and everyone. Every time I resolve to just be better about not letting people fall of my radar, of keeping up my correspondence, but it never seems to happen.

My brain is overactive too in the late hours, bugging because if I try to sleep it is all buzzing up there thinking of all kinds of things wich I can’t even keep track of how quick it is thinking!! I am sure you will find your friends again if you are supposed to, until then – perhaps making new friends? just because you are in a past-period doens’t mean the present is meaningless. hugs