I Have A Secret …

This is something I definitely don’t feel comfortable sharing on Facebook …

Due to the fact that I am always “triggered” by certain actions that remind me of certain things from my past … I don’t sleep in the same bed as my husband.  Yeah … it’s pretty bad.

I am thankful that my husband has started to understand to an extent (though I know it’s not easy for him as it is for me) … lately, sleeping next to my husband has triggered major flash backs … going back to the entire month I was being raped in 2003 (while living in Delaware) after my step father had my mother committed to a mental hospital.

Honestly, I need to talk to someone about this.  I really do.  I don’t know how I have arrived to this point.  For me to have sex with my husband, I need to give myself a pep talk.  Being spontaneous is not an option.  No.   If we are being romantic with one another and it gradually gets that that point of intimacy … then yeah, sure (because my mindset is in a different place) …

But if my husband comes up to me and says, “Hun, I kinda want you …” or even “I am in the mood” … automatic trigger for me!

I tried to sleep in the bed with him the other night.  That was the night I had my nightmares. Nightmares stopped when I was alone on my couch.  Typing this all out … it just makes me realize how sad this all is.  I do want those moments of intimacy … but it’s a challenge for me.

Well … thank you, OD, for hearing my struggle.  Honestly, it’s like a small weight that has lifted off of me … so again thank you.  God bless and good night. 🌙

 

Much Love Always,

Amber.

Log in to write a note
March 8, 2020

I’m sorry that happened to you and that you are still dealing with these kinds of aftereffects.

You’re not alone in this. And it’s not something that you deserve to feel shame about.

I have similar struggles due to my childhood as well…I wish I knew of a magic pill or potion I could recommend that would make everything better for people like us who have had difficult pasts that refuse to let go…

I hope writing on here is helpful.

March 8, 2020

@thecriticsdarling writing this out has been very helpful.  And I absolutely wish I can take a magic pill … or snap my fingers and it will all go away.  It’s a struggle everyday … and I hope to overcome this one day 😔