Monday 5/15/23

5:23a.m. I’m up in my wheelchair Aide got me up at 5. I had a decent, pain free night. Only problem was I had a lot of episodes. Nobody came in to change my briefs. Once again I was lying in urine half the night. This is par for the course.

I had some weird dreams. I was in college taking a test It involved a computer code known as BASIC. I had to work through the code step by step. But it was unsolvable and I couldn’t do it. I triedu and tried but couldn’t do it. I ended up flunking  the test and the class.

I had another dream. I was in my parent’s house. The kitchen was a complete mess and I have to clean it. My mother gave me one of her aprons and I went to work. I was kind of mad because I was the only one doing the work.But later my nephew Rich came in l. He helped and we got her done.

I’m above the dirt and blessed with another day.  I’ll probably fall asleep in my wheelchair I until drinks are served.

9:34a.m. I had a coffee cake and scrambled eggs for breakfast I also had the usual two cups of coffee and a glass of orange juice. Breakfast was pretty good. They must of put something in the coffee because I’m in a good mood. I did a lot of reading this morning. I read chapter 13 in my book At the Highest Levels by Michael Beschloss and Strobe Talbott.

Arthritis pain is non-existent. Only problem is lack of care. I’ve been sitting in urine and feces since breakfast. I’m used to this kind of treatment so it doesn’t bother me. Getting angry and upset doesn’t help matters but only makes things worse. So I’m just going to sit back and enjoy my morning. 

They will be having the Coffee Social in the Fiesta Room. As usual I plan on going to that event. I like getting out of my room. Also like getting a. E tra cup of coffee and a couple of donuts

Well. Life is good

10:27a.m. Life isn’t so good when you have been sitting in urine all morning. I would like ,just once, to give these CNAs a taste of their own medicine. I’d bet the house they would be screaming off their heads for help. They would not like it one bit.I probably stink to high heavens but it is not my fault. I’ve been trying to get changed all morning. I get pretty sick and tired of this neglect. I don’t care how busy they are there is no friggin excuse for this neglect. I can’t wait until I move to the Geriatric Center. 

I’m in the Fiesta Room where they serve coffee and donuts now.  I’m in a better mood because I’m getting my sugar and caffeine fix But I swear I hate this place anymore. I hate it with a passion.

11:21a.m. I’m trying to calm myself after going off about the nursing home. I keep telling myself there is nothing I can do to change matters. I just have to put on my man pants and and suck it up. I’m at their mercy. After all remember the Serenity Prayer. I have zero control over the quality of care. I need to accept that. The only thing I can do is make the best of things and hope I Can move out in four to eight months.

Right now I’m sitting in my wheelchair enjoying my second coffee and waiting for lunch. The coffee offee is soothing my frazzled nerves. I’m having a fairly good time and am not hearing my name mentioned. I can’t wait for lunch because I’m hungry. I’m sureit will be good.

12:36p.m. I had fish, scalloped potatoes, peas, a dinner roll and a brownie for lunch. For snacks I had a donut, three coffees and two glasses of chocolate milk. I feel like I’m bouncing against the wall from all that coffee but it keeps me going. I’m ready to go back to my room if only someone would take me. 

I was chatting with Chocolatechip. She is still upset over yesterday. Somebody told her that the party yesterday was only supposed to be for the bingo crowd. Our point being is that there isn’t supposed to be a bingo crowd. Bingo is supposed to be for the whole building. She feel they said that because they didn’t want to come out and say she was not wanted.

I went on to say that the Bitch Clique is not worth an ounce of your pee. They are a bunch of old bar flies whose common bond is alcohol and drugs. I said you are a class act and do not need those low life scum bags in your life. I also said the hell with that stupid party.

Those women at OT really treat Chocolatechip like shit. I hate it when people are just plain mean to her. Chocolatechip is one of the nicest woman I evet knew.She goes out of her way to be kind to everyone in that place. She really is a class act.

2:47p.m Aide finially came in to change my briefs. She said she was in before but they had taken me to the Coffee Social and lunch. She came back only to find me gone again. This time it was to the PT room. I wasn’t mad at her as much as I was at the aides who came in this morning. They should have taken care of me then. 

Anyways I’m high and dry. I feel better now but am still pissed off. There is just no excuse to go almost all day in sitting in urine and feces. I was telling Chocolatechip while we were chatting that I hate this place with a passion. Chocolatechip said she doesn’t blame me one bit

I’m trying to defuse now. I hope to God I don’t have another accident. I’d hate to spend the rest of the day in urine and feces. I’m trying to defuse now and let go of my anger. All I can say is what a way to spend the Golden Years.

Here is a poem I found about “The Golden Years”

I cannot see I cannot pee.
I cannot chew I cannot screw.
My memory shrinks my hearing stinks.
No sense of smell I look like hell.
My bodies drooping I got trouble pooping.
The Golden Years Have Come At Last.
The Golden Years Can Kiss My ASS.

I’m pretty good at peeing but everything else applies.

4:30p.m. I got changed again. This one aide is on the ball. She changed me twice in one afternoon. I wish all the aides were like her because she does a good job. Not only did she change my briefs but she also put cream on a very sore spot on my thighs. I was in a lot of pain for awhile but I feel much better.

Earlier they were passing out chocolate chip cookies and milk. I had two plus a glass of chocolate milk. I must say the nursing home does do a lot of nice things for the residents. They have a lot of interesting activities such as the coffee social, book fairs, Bible study groups and other events. For example, they had a drive through the country this past weekend. And, for the most part, the food is always good. 

I say for the most part because I don’t like all they serve. They are serving ham and pinto beans, grean beans, cornbread and a fruit cup for dessert. I do not like ham and pinto beans. I didn’t eat supper last night and I don’t think I’ll eat it again. Pinto beans also gives me a dose of diahrea. 

I was talking with Chocolatechip. She just got back from a Wal Mart trip. Her daughter Theresa took her. Then they stopped at the Dairy Queen where she bought two double cheeseburgers. Chocolatechip said they had a good outing and is well stocked up on cleaning supplies. I’m glad she got out of the building for a while.

I got my dinner drinks already, one coffee and one glass of fruit punch. This makes six cups of coffee today. I probably shouldn’t be drinking too much coffee. But I got to have my daily dose of caffeine to keep me going. Besides caffeine and ebooks are my only vice

I just got my supper. I got chicken and spinach. I love chicken and will eat that. I refuse to eat spinach. Besides I had a big lunch and am not hungry. 

6:27p.m. I just finished talking to Chocolatechip. My thigh was hurting so bad I could hardly sit up in my wheelchair. We ended the conversation early so I could get into bed and out of this blasted wheelchair. I got the call light on so I’m wondering if anyone will answer it. Aide said she will comer  in right after supper and put me to bed. Well, it is after supper but I’m not holding my breath.

I was feeling great when I first got up this morning. Pain was gone and I was in good spirits. I was alert and didn’t fall asleep in my wheelchair.  I actually stayed awake and read a chapter in my book. Then things began to turn sour when I didn’t get the help I needed. I was a pretty miserable old fart by supper time. My thighs started hurting from sitting in my wheelchair since 5 a.m . Soit ended up as another shitty day.

I got to thinking that expecting a good day is too much to ask for when you’re in a nursing home. After all nursing homes are for sick and dying people. This is not  a vacation. Perhaps I expect too much from this place. Then again I don’t think I’m being too demanding when all I want is to be kept dry.

Aide just answered my call light. She said give me ten minutes and I will be put to bed. She was the good one who changed me twice this afternoon. So I expect her back in a short while.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
May 15, 2023

I am so sorry about the lack of care that you receive.  I stumbled upon your diary from the home page.  If you ever need an ear…Iam a great listener. .

T