~1st entry’s Explanation -11

Teasing Friends & Family; -He loved to tease us all. He’d fall and act like he was knocked out or hurt and I’d get all worried and then he’d start laughing. Or he’d mimic me when he was being silly. He’d tease his Sister which sometimes made her mad. In August 1996 he and Tyler locked Taylor up in his Shed. I could hear that boy yelling and banging 4 houses up. I Knew Nathan had something to do with it. They came walking in the house laughing.. I told them they needed to go let Taylor out.

Bowling; -He had only been Bowling a few times but he enjoyed it. (The Summer after he was gone, a thing came in the mail for a Parent and Child to be on a Bowling Team. Oh Had he been here I KNOW he would of loved to of done it with me).

Telescope; -He had one of these that he would look at the Stars with WHEN it wasn’t cloudy! But when is it ever NOT cloudy in Colorado? One could also use the Telescope to scope out people down the road and into their houses too.

All the Ceramic Things You made; -Nathan made all kinds of Ceramic stuff all throughout School. Some of the things he made for Brian and I.

Mountasia; -This is a Fun Place with Pinball Machines of all sorts, Water Bumper Boats, Batting Cages, A great 2 course Miniature Golf. We went there periodically.

Playing Pool & Ping Pong; -We had a Pool Table for a while, a Miniature one. He loved to do that. Then we found we weren’t using it much and sold it and got a Ping Pong Table. He was the only one in our house that really liked Ping Pong so he was the only one I played.

Walking Otto; -He loved his Cocker Spaniel Puppy. We took Otto to Kindergarten School and Nathan was the one to work with him. When Otto was a few month old I recall seeing Otto running up the road trying hard to keep up with the Boys and their Bigger Dogs. A lot of times when Nathan went to play with his friends, Otto was with them.

Chickening out With Mom to Not go on Certain Rides at Disney Land & Universal Studios; -I am not sure if Nathan did this to be kind and not leave me alone of if he truly Chickened out with Me to not go on the fast curvy rides. At Disney Land Nathan and I went off on our on for the Simpler Rides.

Basketball; -He loved to Shoot Hoops. We’d go to the School/Park and Shoot Hoops. Sometimes his Dad and Sister would come. His friends also had a Basketball Hoop at their house. Nathan had two Basketballs, and Otto would use one of them as a Soccer Ball in this squared area we had in our backyard. 5 years 5 months later, Otto is still playing Soccer with this same ball. (Yes we have a Soccer Dog)

Catching Lizards; -Every time we went to San Diego (which was every 2 years), we would visit my Aunt. She lived in an area that had Lizards. Both Sarah and Nathan would collect Lizard when we went there and then let them go.

Van Tennis Shoes; -He wanted a Pair of Van Tennis Shoes. They were Popular in 1995/96.

Flannels with Hoods; -In the 6th Grade he wore Flannels with Hoods. He thought he was COOL in those things.

Sagging Your Pants; -In the 6th Grade, he sagged his Pants as much as I would let him, (which wasn’t much). He thought he was COOL doing this too. Age- 11/12

Hide-n-Seek in the Mall on December 24th; -One Christmas, Nathan was in the 5th grade. We as a family went and played Hide-N-Go-Seek in the Mall on Christmas Eve. Sarah/I teamed up and Nathan/Dad teamed up. We each hid twice. Nathan/Dad never found us, and we found Nathan/Dad once, then we went to Taco Bell for lunch. It was pretty fun! We started doing alot more family things that year. Age- 10

Those Clown Lips; This was May of 1991, Nathan was just finishing the 1st grade. His Lips for weeks had been very dry despite using Chapstick. So he licked and licked his lips and before we all knew it he had a red mark around his lips. They looked like Clown Lips. Age- Almost 7

The Time Dad Tried to Pull Your Bottom Tooth and Knocked out Your Top Tooth; -In May of 1991 we were at some relatives house in California and Nathan had recently lost one top tooth and now the other top tooth was very loose, and ready to come out. Nathan’s Dad asked if he wanted any help. Nathan said yes. Well Brian grabbed at that top tooth and pulled. But when he pulled his fingers slipped and it knocked out Nathan’s bottom tooth which was also very loose.. You had to of been there, but we all practically were rolling on the floor!
Brian asked Nathan if he still wanted any help, and Nathan said NO… (LOL I wonder why). Age- Almost 7

~to be continued~

Log in to write a note

RYN: thanks for all your notes. Believe me that staying in this marriage is lot harder, not easier, then leaving. But that’s the choice I’m making for now because I believe with all my heart and soul that I’m doing the right thing by staying. I’ve learned how to handle my husband, most of the time. I agree that it’s not ideal for the kids but I think they’ll be fine. They know above…

cont’d: everything else that they are loved and cherished and that their well being is utmost of importance to us.

One more thing. My mother left her bad marriage yet I still picked a man totally wrong for me. I don’t think staying or leaving will have any effect on the husbands my children pick. I think it’s more the relationship THEY have with their father that will contribute to the type of men they choose to marry.

ouch! that last one made me laugh and cringe! i hope the tooth fairy left him something good that day! 🙂

oh yeah we went through saggy pants hooded flannels and Vans!!! My son loved to lend a helping hand to anyone who had a loose tooth he could usually have success with his first tuck.I keep hoping maybe some day he will have a DDS at the end of his name 🙂

February 21, 2002

I love the colors of this diary! I changed mine yesterday, with the help of an international friend… Thanks for your notes, I will hope to read more of this later, when I, too, have my second wind…

February 21, 2002

we need to have as many good memories as we can with those we love.

What a surprise to see all the notes you left in my diary!Thank you for taking the time to read it. While it broke my heart, I have just spent over an hour reading your lovely tribute to your little boy. What can one say to a mother who has had to endure such a tragic loss? I’m sorry,just doesn’t seem to be enough. Bless your heart.

February 23, 2002

~~pearl