OMG! Back to the OD!

I was randomly thinking the other day how much I missed OpenDiary. I used this thing back in college (longer ago than it seems) – and no, I chose not to reclaim that old diary – and last time I looked for something similar I struck out. Had the thought again today while in front of my computer and here I am. 

So the intro…

I’m a classroom teacher that recently left the classroom to work in a virtual tutoring position. After about 6 months, the culture has gone to total hell and I’m looking to leave education…well, kinda. Most of my options still involve education through ed tech companies, data coordinator with schools, etc. 

I have a ton of degrees.

I craft. Current obsession is crochet. 

I have a mini zoo with parakeets, cats, guinea pigs, and a bearded dragon.

Depression, anxiety, chronic pain, and some health conditions regularly kick my ass lately so venting is good. 

That’s it for now.  Glad to be back here in the land of anonymous venting but where I made some great connections in the past. 

-T

Log in to write a note
April 26, 2022

Welcome back to OD.

Is there a specific reason for the change in the culture in education?

April 26, 2022

@heffay The mention about culture with this was in reference to the tutoring company I work with. I’m not sure why there has been such a change in the culture. But it is inflexible, uncaring, and focused on money only. It is a horrible situation.
As far as education – after 15 years in – the changes are too numerous to count.

April 26, 2022

@craftycatlady I understand. I have a friend (met her on here way back) and she was a middle school teacher in Tennessee. She would describe certain things that happen in education and it was so depressing. Like she was teaching 7th grade reading and she had a kid that couldn’t read or write. She told me how the schools hate to fail a kid because it impacts their funding. And just to make sure it’s not a super depressing story, she taught him how to read and write

April 27, 2022

@heffay I saw the same. Daily. It just got to the point where I mentally couldn’t anymore.  I didn’t have the resources to help kids.  I got in trouble for helping kids when it went against what admin thought and I just couldn’t.

April 26, 2022

Welcome back!

April 27, 2022

@kingofi thanks!

April 27, 2022

I think depression and anxiety go along with chronic pain because I deal with it all too.  I have to fight it every single day.

I have always wanted a parakeet.  Are they easy to take care of?  How many do you have?

April 27, 2022

@happyathome yeah, they definitely seem to go together. I also like to have answers/explanations for things and our medical system is awful so it’s hard to suffer sometimes with no reason why.
I have five parakeets…part of my quarantine adventure was rehoming a bird that was supposed to be male but was a female and having baby parakeets. They are fairly easy to take care of other than mine are exceedingly messy. One of the babies loves to throw seed out of the container and I somtimes often can’t keep up with the cleaning.

April 27, 2022

@craftycatlady Are the parakeets very loud?  I’d have to talk my husband into getting one…or I could just get it and surprise him lol