Quick secret to forgiveness..

…is to realize they might not have been able to help what they do.  I saw this with animals, first, a fool gets mad at a dog for peeing on the carpet.  The dog had to pee, it does not care about carpet, if you are wise, the dog does care about YOU.  If the dog understands, and the dog cares about you, the dog WILL behave in accordance to your wishes, if those wishes do not contradict.  Dogs are very simple, but the process is complex.  Not complicated.  The difference?

A lego creation from my childhood was made with the exact same blocks, maybe three or four kinds, but it was all in my imagination.  My structures were complex, because I had to make complexity from simplicity, and then make more complexity from that.  Like Life, but I didn’t see it, I was just a kid.  But today’s lego monstrosity kits have no room for creativity, they tell you exactly what to build on the box, and probably have instructions.  It is a model, not ingredients for play.  Nothing wrong with that if you want a model, but one taskers are for noobs, if you ask me, or trust fund babies.  I need value for my dollar, and a one off isn’t good enough.

But see, if I remember my youth and then get mad at a kid today for just building say the ship from Guardians of the Galaxy, I’m an asshole.  The kid can’t do anything BUT make what is on the box.  The lego today are complicated.  It is why they have instructions, so you build it JUST RIGHT.  We have removed from the kids so many options that we had and if we do not realize it, we will be angry at two generations when we should be mad at the one in front, not the two behind.  What worked for us will not work for them, and if we are honest, it didn’t work that great for a lot of us.  My 35 year reunion would be sparse as hell, if I cared to go.

But…

There is still time.  It is easy to forgive a kid or a dog when they have no choices.  It is an advanced usage to forgive a country that is being herded, for we want them to be responsible so we can be livid.  We want them to know what they do so that if it gets hot, they know why we fight them.  We want them to understand, because we think if they did, they would stop.

But I can love the enemy I just killed.  I’ve had practice.  Thank you, America.
He had no choice but to shoot at me, and thus I had to shoot him first.  It is only logical. But the bear that kills me in her den because I defended myself against her cubs who were just asleep in their beds when I scared them, well She is also justified.   It was only logical.   As Alfie would say, That’s fair.  See, life IS fair, if we remember we ain’t supposed to be in control, and use that knowledge to see from all other’s eyes so as not to wake a baby bear.

Log in to write a note
February 1, 2022

My son puts those big elaborate Lego kits together and the instructions are like a whole book.  There is so much detail in some of them.  I do agree that it doesn’t take any imagination to build these kits but they can be fun to do.  Our problem is having somewhere to display all the ones he has put together.

February 1, 2022

@happyathome right?  I loved snap together models when I was a kid, and I loved them, to, and it was a great way for people to collaborate, right?  But it does limit the imagination if all we ever learn is how to collaborate, right?  Got to have balance, so sometimes we have to build off plan, go off grid, get into the weeds and find the gems no one else has thought of.  All is play, but then there is Play, yes?

February 1, 2022

@cygnusx-1 Absolutely yes!!  Kids these days have so many toys and such realistic toys that they don’t have to have an imagination and that’s sad.