oh, look who showed up!

I thought doing The Scintilla Project would give me all sorts of motivation for writing EVERY SINGLE DAY!!!! Ummmm….. no. I did enjoy it immensely, though, and was really glad I got as far as I did with it. I think I missed the last two prompts, but no big deal. I appreciated all the comments even more immensely. What it did do was make me realize how much I miss serious (well, kind of serious) writing. And how I actually CAN sit down and do it daily. Even if I don’t. 

So. Glad I did it. It was a worthwhile project. I seem to be full of projects lately. Baker B and I are on vacation — I took off Thursday and Friday and the campus is closed Monday and Tuesday for Easter, so it’s an amazingly LOOOONG vacation. We were going to go somewhere, but he talked me into waiting till June to go to Charleston. Which is okay- the weather has been so ridiculously nice here that it’s actually been just like spring for a month- so for once I don’t feel like I will completely lose my mind if I don’t get out of here and go somewhere with normal April weather.  WE have normal April weather!! Well, okay, we have normal April weather for people in the Piedmont and down at the coast. We have bizarre weather for the mountains. Thank you, Climate Change! We’ve had flowers blooming like mad for a month now. And no freezes to kill everything, which is what ordinarily happens if we do have an early spring. Not yet, anyhow. It’s getting late enough that I’m seriously starting to hope we are actually out of danger. Although I’m still not planting anything yet. 

Anyhow, that’s nothing to do with all my many projects, except that instead of going somewhere for a few days, we just took a day trip yesterday and are taking another one tomorrow. We’d thought about going to West Virginia, maybe back to Williamson, which is an old weird town (like anything in West Va is NOT old and weird) where we’ve stayed overnight a couple of times. There’s a hotel that used to be quite inexpensive, and has big nice rooms (I think at one time it was a fancier hotel than it is now) – rooms with fantastic views over the old town and the hills around it. The first time we stayed there it was very cheap — but now the rooms are $90. Which is crazy. It was kind of pricey last time too – I remember thinking we could have stayed at our Mount Pleasant Red Roof Inn in Charleston for a few dollars more – but $90 is WAY too much for a motel in Coal Country. So, nixed that. And it seems like we’ve been to most of our West Va/Va haunts pretty recently. So we decided we’d take our annual redbud trip and just go drive around Abingdon, which is only an hour from here. However, thanks to the very early spring, Abingdon’s redbuds are pretty much gone already. Our redbuds are blooming, which should have clued us in. Usually, though, we do our redbud trip around the middle of April, and they are not always coming out then. 

We ended up going to Bristol. Which is either Virginia or Tennessee. The state line goes right through downtown. Which, yeah, is a little odd. Bristol is only ten miles or so beyond Abingdon and is a much bigger town, but for some reason we never go there.We don’t even think about, despite going to Abingdon pretty often. Abingdon is more historical. Bristol is mostly known for the NASCAR Speedway. Well, apparently Brisol Tennessee is known for the speedway. And country music. Bristol Virginia doesn’t seem to even mention the speedway on their webiste. 

It’s late, of course – why would I start this with enough time to do it justice before I have to go to bed??? We are going back again tomorrow, amusingly enough, so I need to get up at a reasonable hour. Baker B is suddenly obsessed with a number of old signs and a golf course and a weird lake with a square island and a stream that just vanishes, so he wants to go do some investigating. I also love the old signs so want some more pictures. I will post some pictures from yesterday, and with all the back story out of the way, perhaps my next entry can focus more on what’s behind all these obsessions. If I can actually manage to make another entry before this is all old news. 

This is the lake with the square island. Which isn’t quite square on Google Maps, says Baker B, but it certainly looks square:

The lake bed was quite strange. And shallow. And clear. 

And reflective. 

Downtown Bristol has lots of old neat buildings. 

One of which displayed Girliest Jesus Ever for Easter:

And there’s a really odd sign over the highway downtown. Which is very hard to read from the front.

It says "A good place to live". There’s a ringing endorsement for you! "Bristol VA/ TN. It’s okay!" 

And apparently they weren’t expecting anyone to be coming into town from the other direction:

Since you are actually looking at the town from this direction, it seems like it would make more sense to have it facing you as you approach town. But hey, what do I know about town planning?? There was quite the strange theme of backwards signs on this trip. I’ll get to that next time. There was also a very nifty cemetery, which I will also get to next time. And I will one day catch up on reading and noting. Hahahahaha!

Log in to write a note
April 8, 2012

Hey, I remember Bristol! When we lived in Dallas, and visited family in the DC suburbs, back in the 80’s, we’d drive and drive, and our last overnight stop invariably would be in Bristol. We remember an old decrepit but incredibly cheap motel, where the kids slept in sleeping bags. In the morning, we’d go to the McDonalds, which had the coolest playground ever, with a wooden suspension bridge, among other things, that the kids loved! Oy, now that I’ve written MY entry in your notes… hee!… thanks for posting these pictures! Love the first scene, especially. The weeping willow, with the pond’s idyllic reflection is pretty and tranquil. And yes, that Jesus IS girly-looking! Has your weather been record-breaking warm? That’s what I’ve heard is going on in many places, though not Seattle, which was actually cooler.

April 8, 2012

Jesus is not only girly but playing air guitar! The time off and dat trips sound like great fun.

April 9, 2012

what a nice long vacation!! 6 days off work! how nice! love the photos. i’ve never been to north carolina or west virginia. only way i can see that part of the country is thru photos. take care,

Laughing at the girly Jesus.

April 9, 2012

*still laughing* the girliest Jesus and backwards signs. Oh, it’s not a backward area, I suppose? (No offence.)

April 9, 2012

And was girly Jesus in a storefront? Don’t see that happening back here.

a square island would drive me nuts! erm. that is a lake? i would love to meet a pond. and a puddle. jejejejeje. oh that is spanish for hehehehehe.. erm. have you noticed my eyes are crossed???

Day trips are fun. I thought the supposed ‘Jesus’ was a model for some new weird fashion trend for women.

April 9, 2012

enjoy your time off!! what a strange little square island. i love that you two take day trips. you would love our Portland, so many old interesting buildings. portland burned to the ground – twice – and so now basically ALL of downtown is marble or stone.

April 9, 2012

Hey! I think I saw that Jesus at the Gap! Or was it Old Navy? Laughing over your sign comments.

April 9, 2012

My favorite Jesus EVER.

April 9, 2012

Drag Queen Jesus. That is cracking me up.

April 9, 2012

Someone overlooked the chance to make that Jesus even cornier — they could have had him holding that world globe… “He’s got the whole world in his hands!”

April 9, 2012

laughed out loud at Jesus. then laughed some more at your noters making fun of Jesus. we’re all going to hell 🙂

April 10, 2012
April 11, 2012

I hope you had a wonderful vacation and holiday! Your pictures are amazing as always. The Lake is quite mesmerizing, too! I seem to always be behind in writing in my own OD and on catching up/noting but I am trying now! Hope you are well! xo

April 12, 2012
April 12, 2012

What a cool place, although that Jesus is a bit disturbing. My pups would love that shallow lake.

April 15, 2012

Your pictures are gorgeous, as usual. That’s a freaky looking Jesus. He belongs in the movie “Tourist Trap”.

April 15, 2012

Ha. I’ve yet to make it to Bristol. I’d assumed it was two separate cities on either side of some sort of physical geographic feature (like a river), hadn’t realized the state line is arbitrarily cut through downtown!

April 15, 2012

Don’t forget Tenessee Ernie Ford who would have had a different name if he had been born across the street. Lovely photos:-)

April 16, 2012

I also had much grander ambitions for my post-Scintilla blogging life, but they aren’t exactly playing out like I hoped they would. Eh, sooner or later someone else will come up with another short term writing extravaganza. That IS one girly Jesus. If it wasn’t for the squareness of the jawline, I would swear that mannequin was female. Bristol does seem OK. Your pictures, of course, are wonderful.

April 16, 2012

wonderful and beautiful photos, B!!!!!

April 22, 2012

your photos are always so lovely, but girlie jesus is cracking me up!!

May 5, 2012

Jesus must be turning in his gr… oh no hang on ……