THE LOST WIFE

I just finished reading this amazing book by Alyson Richman. THE LOST WIFE. It was about the Holocaust. However the story was also a wonderful love story. TRULY UNBELIEVABLE! I would highly recommend it. 
Today was an ok day. I went swimming in the morning. Then I went to get gas and a car wash. Finally I stopped by to get some plants. I ended up with one cactus plant and two begonias. I was told they all don’t ned too much sun which is good because we don’t get any. One is red; the other yellow. I plan to take good care of them until I leave for Florida. I wish I could take them with me but it is illegal.
Hubby and I are not talking much. I have no idea what he is thinking. Maybe tomorrow I will start a discussion. I just worry about where it will lead. I already told him I wouldn’t go to the country. He said he would go Friday and come back Sunday. 
That’s fine with me. I have no plans for the weekend but there’s plenty for me to do.
Sunday we have my grandson’s birthday party. I have to cut up potatoes because it’s been my job to prepare french fries while there. I’m not sure how much to peel as we’re going to be about 18. OY!!!!!!!
I have NOT been spending. I have been avoiding the stores. That’s the best and easiest way. This week I put 40 in my savings bottle. I would love to get 2000 saved before Florida but that’s a tall order. The main problem is often I just use my debit card so I have no cash to save. From now on I think I will take out cash at the beginning of the week so I will be able to save some in my bottle.
I have always wished for a way to make some extra money but I could never come up with a good way. I guess I will die wishing………………….
Tomorrow morning I will go swimming. Then I will meet my "sick" friend and go for lunch. I don’t know if any of my other friends will go. She’s on oxygen and it’s hard for her to walk. I am so happy that she wants to go for lunch. I suggested that once she is going to the doctor we may as well go for lunch. She lives in an upper duplex and it is a chore for her to go up and down the stairs. At least this will be a change and fun for her.
So maybe I should try to sleep now. I finished the book. Hubby is already in bed. I finished four pages on my scrapbook this evening. Now have to work on the wedding ceremony. I don’t think this book will be as "good" as my others. I just want to get it done!
I talked to my daughter tonight. I realized that I MUST change my attitude towards my DIL. I MUST! It’s her right to have different ideas from me. It’s ok! Just like I had different ideas than my mother. Why do I get so riled up? Why do I get so upset? Why do I get so emotional? Why can’t I just relax and enjoy being with family???
Is it time to go back to the psychologist? I don’t think so as I know what I need to do. I have to talk to my hubby and I have to accept my DIL.

Log in to write a note
May 23, 2012

Some people do just rub us the wrong way! It happens. And it’s unfortunate when they are family members.

May 24, 2012

there are just some people who rub us the wrong way and there’s not much we can do about our feelings towards them but we can change the way we react to them and towards them. what do you have to talk with your hubby about? are you two having problems? prayers for you. take care,

May 24, 2012

Sounds to me like you are working it out on your own. Hope it all works out like it should. Love,

Sometimes we know what we need to do, but find it hard to make the first step in doing it or figuring out how to do it.

May 24, 2012

Once I realized that I can’t change someone else, I can only change my reaction to them I started finding peace with those who rub me the wrong way. It’s very hard at first to not let things get to me, but much easier as time goes by. Life’s too short to allow others to steal your joy!