one day later and so much to talk about!

A beautiful thing happened today. 🙂 It snowed! Every year I hope and wish and pray as hard as I can for snow because here in Port Orchard we only get it maybe twice a year if we are lucky.  Also, it is never more than a couple inches.

I love snow SOOO MUCH! It brings back so many good memories from Alaska 🙂

Walking down the street in the evening, not a sound to be heard;the cement sparkling like diomonds and the snow coming down in huge soft pillowy flakes all around.
so quiet,

so peaceful,

it was like a dream.

I also remember waiting for the man who plowed snow out of the street to come by our driveway, so that my siblings and i could make snow forts or igloos out of the huge pile of snow it left behind!

Oh and the many snowball fights I’d get into with all the other kids who walked home from school haha.

Or when my firend Aika and I made a snow couch outside her house by the sidewalk. Man, we waited for an hour by her living room window, just watching to see if any passerbys would use it to rest lol. I guess we thought we were doing something nice for the locals!

So many many memories. 🙂 Oh shoot! This is what always happens!  One thought leads to another and before you know it im rambling on and on! Haha.

Point is i’m happy it snowed, and it gives me hope that we might get a white christmas just like last year!

Not only did it snow today, but this morning I found Roofus! Right when I woke up I looked everywhere! My brother helped. Finally after searching and searching I gave up hope….with a hanging head I began to shut all the drawers I opened. For some reason one of them wouldn’t shut all the way so I took it out to see what was blocking it and…."ROOFUS! Oh my baby I found you!"

lol now at this time my mom had these guys that work for her over at the house, and they were upstairs painting one of the guest rooms. They looked at me kinda puzzled as I came out of my room and I turned red. "Um…I found my snake haha" They heard me…how embarrassing….

So once Roofus was found I was ready to go pick out the christmas tree with my dad! Picking out the tree is a big deal to me. I guess not to my brother or anyone else because I was the only one excited to go. We found this place near the drive in theater off highway 3 that had tons and tons of trees to pick from! They were all different sizes, different kinds, different shapes, how were we ever going tp pick?

It was a pick your own and cut your own place and this year my dad was going to let me cut it down! Saw in hand we treaded out. "How about this one?" "Nope, too many gaps." "What about this one? Oh wait….no it’s too small…or this one! Wait…nooo…."

Then my dad heard someone say "I either want this one or that big fat one over there!" He emediatley looked and said "Hey Hannah! What about this one!?"

And there it was! The perfect tree 🙂 We knew right when we saw it! Thanks to that lady we probably never would have haha. My dad held up the lower branches while I sawed half way through. Something wasn’t working right though and my dad didn’t want me breaking his saw so he finished the job 😛

Once the tree was cut and layed down my dad said he was going to get someone to come pick it up and I said "Um dad, I can totally carry it."

"No you can’t! It’s 9 1/2 feet! There’s no way it’s too heavy"

"Dad seriously, take the saw"

"You can’t do it hannah haha"

"Dad just take the saw!"

"Alright"

I gave him the saw, grabbed the middle of the tree and hoisted it up.

"Where we going?"

I loved the look on my dads face haha. He was so surprised!

"I told you I’ve been going to the gym dad!"

"well yea I guess you have!"

I walked about 15 feet from where we were over to the machine that shakes the tree to get all of the dead needles off. I guess the man at the machine had seen everything because when one man tried telling me I didn’t have to help put it in he said "Are you kiddin? This girl can handle it! she just carried it all the way here!"

Then when I offered to lift it into the car he said "Oh we got it now haha, quit showing off!" and smiled. 

It felt good to be noticed in that way. What I mean is, I don’t like men to underestimate me because I am a woman. And a small woman at that haha. Actually, come to think of it, I’ve been that way since I was young!

 In second grade when the boys had to climb all the way to the top of the rope, and the girls were expected only to climb halfway, I was the one girl who would stop at nothing until I got to the top. Every year in gym when the physical fitness tests came around I always strived for presidential. Not doing the flex arm hang that they were having the girls do, but the real pull ups! So to let my dad see that his daughter can help him out just as much as his son when it comes to strength, it made me proud of myself 🙂

On the way home he said "I still can’t believe you carried that tree!" haha

When we got home I had to emediatley get ready for work and head out. Tonight was my bartending test and I COULD NOT be late! I was soooo excited, and yet SOOOO nervous! What if I forgot a drink? What If the line of people waiting for drinks was huge and I was too slow? What if the bartender supervising snapped at me and made me lose my concentration?! What if….

I realized all of that negative thinking wasn’t helping. I needed to calm down! I had to pass this test! I had to show the supervisor that I knew what I was doing and I was comfortable with it. *breathe in, breathe out* phew.

I greeted  him and asked him if he was supposed to help me set up the bar and he said "Well I am actually just supposed to watch and make sure you know what you are supposed to do to set it up, but I have nothing else to do so of course I’ll help!"

*gulp*  and so he watched as I went through my inventory list and started gathering the liquor and beer and many other things I needed. When the bar was complete and guests were about to arrive, I started going through my drink cards one last time just in case. The supervisor said "Hannah, you can put those away you won’t need them!" and smiled.

"Um, alright"

"Calm down! Relax! You’ll do fine!"

That made me feel better. I was actually ver

y happy that he was with me. I realized he wasn’t there to police me, or look for mistakes, it wasn’t a test after all 🙂 He was there to help me, to teach me, and to see if I could handle things. The guests came, I started making drinks, and everything went smoothly! After a while I was starting to wonder why I was ever nervous in the first place! I knew from the beginning that I could do this. *sigh* My test anxiety always gets to me. I was actually sort of dissapointed that it wasn’t busier than it ended up being. At the end of the night the supervisor told me that I did a great job and he would let my boss know. "The more you do this the more you will get the hang of it! You’ll see!" He said.

YES YES YES! I passed! Now I will start working at a banquet bartender! FINALLY! I AM IN! I wanted this so bad and now I have it! What a relief! It won’t be long now till I can apply to other bars and be working two jobs! Then once the play is over I can go back to school and start acting classes again! Everything is coming together 🙂

This is a job I can bring with me anywhere I go! There will always be bars! This way I can go to auditions during the day and work during the night! I probably won’t have to have two jobs either depending on where I work! Oh I am just so happy!

Okay okay okay. So those were all the great things that happened today….but the thing I am about to write about next is not so great….not great at all actually.

I got home from work around 1:30 am this morning and when I got out of my car I could hear the neighbors screaming at eachother. I’ve heard them fight before, but not like this! I stopped to listen and I think I heard the woman say

"You fucking Bastard!"

and I think the man called her a bitch…. I couldn’t make out anything else they were saying so I just stepped inside and went to bed.  After waking up, finding my snake, and  going downstairs, I could see a commotion in the kitchen.
"What’s going on!?"
Everyone was looking out the kitchen window at the neighbors house and talking about something.

"Hannah…look"

I looked and saw 3 cop cars and an ambulence. Then two men were carrying a body bag out of the house…*GASP!*
"Is…is he dead?"

My mom told me yes and that the woman was the one who called it in. He was only 40 so the coroner is going to examine the body for cause of death. The police won’t let anyone know what the womans alibi is, but so far they have no reason to prosecute her until they examine the body.

Shivers wen’t down my spine. "I heard them fighting this morning."

My mom looked at me
"What?! You did? Because I heard them fighting yesterday! What time?"

I told her what I heard and she said "Well the police are going to come over here and ask us some questions so you should definitely tell him that."

And that is precisely what happened. An officer came over wanting to talk to me and I told him what I heard. I said I’ve heard them fight before, but since it happened every now and then I didn’t think anything of it when I heard it early that morning. I had seen them plenty of times laughing and having a good time drinking outside on their porch too. He said thank you to me and told me to call him if I remembered anything else or had anything else to add.

I wonder….could she have murdered him? Could it be that someone was murdered in the house next to mine? I could have called 911 when I heard them screaming….I could have prevented something like this from happening….but how was I supposed to know? But what if it was self defense? We never got to know our new neighbors and they pretty much kept to themselves. For all I know he could have been physically abusing her….

I guess I will just have to read the papers tomorrow and see whats up. I am still so shocked by it. :-S

"

Log in to write a note
December 14, 2008

You need to move to Canada if you love the snow LOL.

December 14, 2008

Um, you shouldn’t call the cops every time you hear neighbors arguing. Whether murdered or not, it’s sad that he is dead, though. CONGRATULATIONS Miss Bartender! OMG! YAY! Also, I LOVE picking out Christmas Trees! i am sure the tree is lovely! I can’t wait to see it! also, you are lucky you didnt squash Roofus when trying to shut the drawer! lol! Glad he’s safe and sound.

December 15, 2008

aww it snowed here too!!! and i live in northern california! ha and that’s so cute, that story you told about getting your tree =] !!!

December 16, 2008

thats so weird about your neighbors!! and i’m glad you found roofus. I know you would have been devastated if anything had happened. p.s. thanks for always leaving notes. I know i’m not too good with this diary thing, but i’m trying haha.

December 16, 2008

yaya for roofus!!! funny about the tree! and scary about the neighbor thing!!! 🙁 wonder if she did it… let me know if you find otu anything. im curious!