It’s all fun and games…

I have two thoughts, but having a free account I’m only allowed to post one post. So, I’m going to do my best to combine those thoughts into one post and see what happens.

Life is funny.   We never choose for things to suck, to be bad, but they often get there anyway.

When I stood at the alter saying my vows (that I wrote personally) I meant what I was saying. But those bows never quite played out. We had discussed many time that the joining of two people did not eliminate those to people to create some new entity. We agreed that this union was supposed to allow both of us to grow. That didn’t happen.

I knew going in that I was settling for my partner. But I was in a place at that time where I didn’t feel I was worth more. And, to be honest, I was excited to marry into the family. The in-laws treated me better than my family ever did. I was upgrading that.  I felt loved, cared for, not judged.

So, I proceeded.  The vows were exchanged, rings were out on, and cake was had.  And I silently began my life of being subservient I don’t mean that in the BDSM way, which at least would have been more fun. I meant that my opinion became secondary.

I know I’ve seen jokes about this, and I’ve even laughed. You know, where she asks “Do you the green or the blue?”  You say blue and she says, “Green it is”.

Yes, that is funny in small doses. But when it becomes your life…it’s not as funny. That is merely part of my challenge, as other things have become more and more common. I’m not going to into details, as that just becomes bitching and moaning. But there is one aspect I have to mention. I’m not sure what OD allows on here anymore, but the bedroom has been dead for a long time now.

How does one survive that long without any intimacy?  One goes elsewhere. So, I went online. I wrote. I wrote erotic stories to the point where I had a bit of a following. And I grew to dislike myself, what I had become.

And then, as happens, real life gets in the way. I stepped away not because I didn’t like what I was becoming but because the time came for me to focus on real life. Personal health. Jobs,  stuff.

Now I find myself in the other side, desperate for contact from that person who has to step back, to deal with real life. And that sucks. This is her life, and I will not make it about me. But it’s hard. So, I will wait…

 

And hope…

Log in to write a note
September 13, 2023

Years ago we were raised to be a subservient wife. I took really good care of both my husband’s. I was taught that was the way. It is sad….but a product the time.  I raised my girls the opposite. Now to me a relationship is an equal partnership.

September 13, 2023

@thespiritwithinme Just to flip expectations, I am male.

September 14, 2023

@laynemeyer2 thanks for clarifying.

Even with the male version in place,  men too were taught their roll was a certain way.  Life doesn’t really prepare us for the reality of what is to be.

 

September 14, 2023

@thespiritwithinme Therapy has been a godsend, but it has also opened my eyes to things I wasn’t aware of.  And the thought of complete upheaval at this point is terrifying. At the same time, the thought of staying this way foerever is also terrifying.

September 14, 2023

@laynemeyer2 I have been there. One thing I learned in life is life will make the choice for you if you let it. Its hard to be stuck and not know which way to go. I spent most of my adult life in therapy. I still go once a month for maintenance.   You got this, even when you don’t think you do. 💕

September 14, 2023

@thespiritwithinme Thank you for your encouragement and support. Honestly, I don’t think I have this. But I know if I let the universe decide, as I have done so frequently in my life, it will not choose the path that is best for me.

~W
September 14, 2023

It sounds like you need to break up, or at least separate for awhile.  Some people don’t appreciate you until you put your foot down and demand to be appreciated.

September 14, 2023

@w_10 Not the first person to tell me that. Life provides complications, but the only thing that will really fix this (one way o the other) is conversation. Communication. Which has been a problem for us.

September 14, 2023

Only you can know what’s best, as we only get a tiny snippet of the story from a post. So I hope for you whatever is best – whether that is staying together or splitting up. And I hope that either way your worth is valued.

September 14, 2023

@the-idiot I know I could paint things so you see my side, and I could also paint thing so you could see hers (partially). Perspective is always important. But is there capital T Truth?  The only real solution will be to have that uncomfortable conversation. Probably with a counselor as a mediator. Just thinking about suggesting that makes me want to hide. Indicative of the commutation issues we already have.