Okay then

Been on a few dates with this dude who is already more into me than I am into him. The dude who lives about an hour away. That one.

when I say a few dates I mean 3. 3 dates and he picked a fight with me for some reason I cannot figure out.

We were having a conversation through text that was a little bit sexual in nature, and he told me some things he liked.
I echoed what he said, and told him I also liked some of those things as well, and the mood changed entirely. I could feel it, even over text. I didn’t address it because I was convinced it was just my imagination, but in the blink of an eye he spazzed a little bit. He was upset that I told him I also like those things because “now he has to think about me enjoying those things with other men”….. ummmm…. What? Is this real life?? This is really what he was upset about??? But, okay. I said “I’m sorry. I won’t talk about it again if that makes you uncomfortable.” And he was flying off the handle about how I don’t need to talk about it, he just knows it now and he doesn’t want to have to think about me with other men, and that it makes him feel inadequate. That lead to an hour long conversation about the size of his junk. (What???) Like he’s not hung like a horse or anything but he’s not “small” at all either so, idk why that was a thing….

Mind you, the things I said I liked, HE said HE liked, and HE initiated the conversation, that I didn’t go into details- AT ALL- just that I enjoyed XYZ too.

So dating is going great lol

Log in to write a note
DH
February 1, 2024

Wow, that’s pretty bad there. Kinda sad when he acts up like that over you mentioning you like something.

February 1, 2024

I guess it’s helpful that the dude is waving the red flags directly at you. At least he showed his true colors over text so you didn’t have to deal with the weird temper tantrum in person.

February 2, 2024

What did he expect? For you to sit there and just listen to him? Dating is so hard!

February 2, 2024

DHSA (“Dump his sorry ass”) Yeah, dating sucks, and I am reluctantly re-entering the pool after being involved in a relationship for the past 16 months with someone who was emotionally volatile. Sounds like he has the same issue. At least it only took 3 dates for this to emerge; I didn’t find out until we were 4 months in, and then I hung on for another year.

I’m going to approach dating much differently this time around: no “online dating” (too many flakes and fakes) and just see who I bump into in the course of my daily life. I live in NYC, so there are plenty of opportunities to interact with people in different contexts, and it doesn’t hurt that I enjoy getting people to chat.