I have to vent.

Dear Diary;

I can’t believe this is happening.

This is last Christmas all over again- only worse.

She messages me one day out of the blue and says "I’m moving home for good!". I don’t get overly excited, since moving to Calgary she’s made many promises that she hasn’t kept. (I’m only going to be there for 2 months… I’m coming home at Christmas for good… I’m moving home in the spring… I’m moving home in July.. I’m moving home in September..). She asks me when a good time for me is because SHE wants me to go to Calgary before she moves home and SHE wants me to fly back with her because she’s a nervous flyer. I tell her I’m good for September.

She calls me one day and says- "I did it, I booked my flight home!!"

She tells me she booked it for the 23rd of August. My heart drops and I tell her that I can’t go because Beckie’s wedding is that day and I already promised her I’d photograph the wedding.

We chat more, she tells me what time the flight gets in, she say "you can work something out.." and so, I begin trying to work it out.

But wait.. this has happened before! Christmas last year we did the same routine- but she couldn’t get the time off work. So I tell her- listen, you CAN’T work that week. I’m very clear about this- I tell her several times to make her last day at work the friday before I come. She confirms.

I start working to figure out a plan. I jeopardize a friendship/working relationship with Beckie and her wedding to do this. That’s important to me- and I still feel guilty.

I talked directly to my boss- made a deal with her that I would work extra shifts to cover her the week after I get back so that I can have that week off. I did it though.

It’s the week of my birthday that I’m going and for 25 years we’ve had a family party for everyone’s birthday… but this year beause I won’t be home- on my 25TH BIRTHDAY, we’re combining my brother’s b-day and my b-day and having one big bbq/party on the 3rd of August so that I don’t miss out when I’m in Calgary.

All this stuff.. I worked it all out.

Before I bought the tickets, I asked her again- ARE YOU SURE you have that week off? "Yes", she says.

So I buy my tickets.

$700 FUCKING DOLLARS OF MY HARD EARNED MONEY… NON REFUNDABLE.

 

and first.

First she tells me that she’s changed her mind and that she’s NOT moving home after all. And I’m incredibly disappointed. I’m angry even- but I tell her that I’ll support her either way- because that’s what friends do.

and now..

Now she says "I have to work 3 days out of the 5 that you’re here".

and I’m completely breaking down.

 

You mean to tell me that not only did I pay $700 (which I could be putting towards quitting my job and finding a new place to live), but I’m LOSING money because of taking time off work.. AND I put a friendship in jeopardy…

AND!!!!

AND!!!!!!!!!

on top of all that, you’re telling me that you want me to GO TO WORK WITH YOU and VOLUNTEER????

ON MY VACATION?????

ACROSS THE FUCKING COUNTRY????

..

..

are you shitting me?

are you fucking kidding me???

 

What person in their right mind takes a week off work to fly across the country and volunteer on their vacation? Especially when they’re shit broke?

Is that your idea of a good time? Honestly?

I can’t wrap my head around this!

what the fuck, man?

 

I…… I don’t even

I can’t even begin to describe what I’m feeling right now.

 

and then she tells me that she’ll "try" to get the time off. And she says "IF IT HELPS ANY, I wouldn’t even be able to get the time off if it were my parents visiting"…

Uh, no. No, that doesn’t HELP any.

And who is this boss of hers anyway? Who the fuck does she think she is?

I mean.. she was going to QUIT, but she felt bad for leaving you- so she decided to STAY, and now you won’t even give her the week off??

What kind of Hell Bitch are you?

 

……………………..

It’s 1:10am.

I got up bright and early this morning so that I would be tired and able to go to sleep at a decent time tonight.

I’m so fucking upset, I can’t even begin to think about sleeping.

 

*flussshhhhhh* … down the drain. All of it.

Log in to write a note
July 21, 2008

i dont blame you. id be venting INSANELY too. 🙁

July 21, 2008

wow … shes got nerve i tell ya *hugz*

July 22, 2008

WOW! AWESOME! That was a great – you are SO right!!! You are being treated like CRAP – NOT COOL!!! ::::::::::HUGS:::::::::::::::

July 22, 2008

OMG I HATE when friends act like … basically like less of a friend because you know you would never do all of that to a friend but yet your friend would do it to you! It’s realllly dissapointing 🙁 BUT the ticket is non refundable so I guess you will try to make the best of it and just never lay so much money down on the line for her again…

July 22, 2008

*hugs* She is definitely taking advantage of the fact that you are a great friend, and would do anything for her… not cool. I would definitely be venting right now too… I hope everything works out!

July 22, 2008

she can tell her job that shes not gonna work those days… she at least should be able to get 1 or 2 shifts knocked off.

July 22, 2008

This sucks for you! I hope it all works out. Maybe it would just be better to cancel and get a credit with the airline? Hope it works out! If you do end up in Cowtown for vacation, maybe we can meet up for a coffee?!

July 22, 2008

oh that sucks…sorry

July 22, 2008

Sorry to hear this. You can either cancel the trip (small fee) and just keep a credit with the airline for a future trip to somewhere you can have a true vacation. OR you can still go to Calgary and you’ll just have to bite the bullet and tour the city on your own while she’s at work. There’s lots to explore and things you can do on your own no problem (I did it while friends were at work).

It’s the whole thing about not being respected and feeling like she isn’t thinking about your feelings. Ack! I would be so angry, hurt and disappointed. I’m so sorry, Meghan.

July 24, 2008

woah, holey brutal! I`d see it this way – your vacation. Make a list of things you can and want to do and do them. go to banff, go to sulfur springs, go up the calgary tower go to 17 ave sw i believe it is and check out the stores, but make it your trip. and if she`s working, that`s really too bad but she can join you while you ahve the time off and planned. have fun cuz i am jealouse 😉