Is This All There Is?

I’ve been really angry lately.  Even the smallest things piss me off.  I don’t take it out on anyone.  It’s more internal.  If I’m alone, I’m constantly cursing about one thing or another.  F bombs constantly fly out of my mouth.  My day always starts out the same: interacting with a non-affectionate and non-empathetic person as soon as I get up.  Showering and getting ready while my cat meows the whole time, making me feel guilty for leaving.  Spending 45 minutes driving to work in shitty traffic, and now horrible construction and shitty drivers.  I get to work and it’s usually ok.  It is the best job I’ve ever had.  I like everyone in the lab and the job is easy for me.  It’s just that… cheese quality isn’t exactly a passion for me.  So I make it through everyday to get off work, drive another 45 minutes back home, which isn’t near as bad at night.  So many less drivers on the road.  Then I come home to the same non-affectionate, non-empathetic person, I eat, watch TV for a few hours, cuddle/play with my cat, then sleep.  Then get up and do it all over again.  Is this really what life is about?  Is this all there is?

Log in to write a note
May 20, 2022

No, this is not all there is in life. I felt the same way a little more than a year ago and back to… I don’t know when. I ended up filing for divorce last year and it was the best decision I made for myself in a long time. Yeah, I have to deal with loneliness, bad emotions, and the rigmarole of meeting new dates and breaking up with new dates BUT there’s energy and always something different. I’m sorry that you’re going through this cycle of depression and rage.

May 20, 2022

I ask myself this same question so often lately.  Every day just feels like the day before, for the most part.  Is the best part of my life behind me?  It would help if I lived closer to my grandson…that would bring me so much joy.  I’m sorry you are feeling “off”…I understand.