One Year After Joining Curves

March 26th, 2011 marked my one year anniversary of joining Curves. I did my official weigh-in and measure this morning. I am very pleased with everything I accomplished this last month, and over the course of this last year. My life has completely changed – for the better. Thanks to Curves, Renee and all the wonderful ladies I’ve met, I got my life back. It’s been an amazing year for me. And a hard one. Yet, as hard as it’s been to get this weight off, it’s been so rewarding, too.

I wanted to thank you all for your endless supply of support, kind words and prayers. They mean so much to me. And I hope that I’ve inspired some of you along the way. My journey is nothing short of amazing. Renee has even asked me to start shadowing Janet to learn the Weight Management Program. They want me to learn how to teach it. That way, once Janet retires or isn’t able to come to our store anymore, there will be someone that has the ability to help others do what I have done.

Renee also mentioned me writing a book. *laughs* I am considering doing so, only after I’ve reached my ultimate goal. Which has been changed, by the way. I changed it to 170, instead of 160. I’ve decided to do that because I’m looking really good at 216 pounds. I think if I went down to 160, I wouldn’t look very healthy. So we’ll see what I’m looking like once I reach 180 and we’ll go from there. I might stop there, if I like what I see once I reach that point. But we’ll see. It’s up to me to decide. And I’ll know when I see myself. So no worries there.

Anyways, on with the numbers. There will be pics at the end of this, as usual. Please leave a note if you view. I’d appreciate it!

3/28/2011 (1 year after joining Curves)

Weight – 216 pounds (223 3/4 last month) = 7 3/4 pounds lost (68 3/4 pounds lost so far)
Bust – 36 1/2 (36 3/4 inches last month) = 1/4 inch loss (5 1/4 inches lost so far)
Waist – 37 3/4 (38 1/4 inches last month) = 1/2 inch loss (8 1/4 inches lost so far)
Abdomen – 49 1/4 inches (50 inches last month) = 3/4 inch loss (9 1/2 inches lost so far)
Hips – 50 inches (50 inches last month) = no loss (8 1/4 inches lost so far)
Thigh – 27 inches (27 inches last month) = no loss (times 2) (11 1/2 inches lost so far – 5 3/4 inches off each one)
Arm – 13 inches (13 1/4 inches last month) = 1/4 inch loss (times 2) (5 1/2 inches lost so far – 2 3/4 inches off each one)

Body Fat Percentage – 39.6% (39.5 last month) = 0.10% gain (47% on 3/26/2010)
BMI – 34.08 (35.3 last month) = 1.22 loss (44.93 on 3/26/2010)

According to my weight/measurement report, I lost 3.96 pounds of body fat (of the 7 3/4 pounds I lost), and 2 inches.

My 1 year total weight loss is 68 3/4 pounds (48.30 is body fat pounds). And I’ve lost 48 1/2 total inches off my body. My body fat percentage is down 7.40%, and my BMI is down 10.85.


March 28, 2011 – 1 year after joining Curves
Front view
216 pounds


March 28, 2011 – 1 year after joining Curves
Side view
216 pounds

You can see where I started 1 year ago HERE.

So, this is proof that ANYONE can go from eating entire bags of chips and candies and drinking 1,000 calories of Dr. Pepper to where I am now. I don’t drink sodas anymore. And for the most part, I eat very well. I have my splurges and my fall off the wagon days. But we all do. I’ve learned to accept it all as part of the process.

I love where I am now. I love my life.

P.S. – We’ve been doing the 30 day challenge at Curves. And the top 3 losers (inches and weight combined) will win a prize. My total was 9.75. And so far I’m in the lead. I would really like to win a contest. 🙂 Cross your fingers for me.

Curves Scale:

baby development

baby

baby

Log in to write a note
March 28, 2011

OMG you look so tiny. 🙂 i would say go ahead and write that book. 🙂 i would buy it 🙂 what an awesome weigh in after a vacation too, im so proud of you.

March 28, 2011

Amazing!!

March 28, 2011

Awesome!! You should be so proud!

March 28, 2011

I’m just almost speechless here Mikie. Wow Wow Wow!! Just look at yourself…you look amazing with your little black capris on :-). To say I am proud of you doesn’t do it justice. What you have done for yourself is just amazing and inspiring…wtg friend!!!!

Such an inspiration girl!!! =D

March 28, 2011

Wow!!! The difference is very obvious now, you look amazing. And now they want you to teach!!! That’s so cool! 😀 Good on you. You have done a fabulous job!

March 28, 2011

AWESOME!! I hope I has results like yours!!

March 28, 2011

Goodness, way to go lovie!

March 28, 2011

Very impressive! You look great.

March 28, 2011

This is so wonderful. What a fantastic job you have done. You’re looking awesome.

March 28, 2011

WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Amazing!! All that hard work is truly paying off!!

BJ.
March 28, 2011

You look amazing! You have good reason to love your life and be happy. I have heard some people say that they are happy being fat but I don’t believe that for one second. Losing weight changes a lot of things besides your size the main thing that changes is attitude and of course that is what allows you to lose weight, that and hard work and determination. Congratulations, you have a lot to be proud of.

I’m keeping ya doll….:) No worries.

You look great!!

March 28, 2011

You look amazing! You are doing such a good job and you inspire me to stick to my goals!

You are kicking ass and taking names!!!

March 28, 2011

YOU ROCK!!!! LOVIN’ IT!

you’re looking amazing 🙂 xx

March 29, 2011

WOW!!! Congrats to you and all of your hard work!! You look absolutely wonderful!

March 29, 2011

AMAZING!

March 29, 2011

You look amazing! I’m so happy for you! You have a lot to be proud of and you’re doing what makes you happy! Congrats!

March 29, 2011

You’re awesome! 🙂 You know, I wrote a comment yesterday on this entry and was the first one to read it…but then it was taken away so you must have been updating or something. You’re pretty quick…lol I’ll remember you in the contest, don’t think that part was in the first time….and good luck!!! 🙂

March 29, 2011

wow!! you look amazing! Good for you!!!!

March 29, 2011

What a difference a year has made!! Congrats on the weightloss! That is fantastic! RYN: I struggle to break weightloss into mini goals. I’m a big picture kinda girl, and I feel like, even if I lose 5 pounds, I”m still fat, ya know? I know it’s inside of my head, but until I can overcome that, I’m going to have to struggle. I will work on myself though, to try to accept that 5 pounds is acceptable….and an accomplishment!! And I’m glad to hear someone else say forget BMI. Ugh. I could rant for hours about BMI and how STUPID it is!! When I was in the military, I was supposed to weigh 134 lbs, max. Straight out of basic, I was 162 – and skinny as all get out. So, even then, I was considered overweight, if you look at BMI. Ugh!

March 29, 2011

I am so so impressed with you!!!

March 29, 2011

Congrats. You looks fantastic and what a great accomplishment.

RYN: He’s married. That’s what I can’t tell people. I’m not sleeping with him, and I gave him that year to make sure nothing was left in his marriage. How can I want a man to leave his family – even if I can see its best for him – when another woman stole my husband. I’m sorry if this disappoints you…I know how you feel about infidelity….and another of my faves has had herheart broken by her husband doing exactly what Ying has done. This whole thing has nearly destroyed me…xx

Mikie, I love you to bits…I’ve been sitting here hitting refresh because I was so scared of what you were going to say… I’m on my way home so I’ll note you more later, but yes he is leaving her. Its taken a long time for him to come to this decision and I’ve never pushed him to do so….there’s a huge amount of history here and I promise to tell you more – because I need to get it outlol… Thank you so much…now I don’t feel so alone *huge hugs* xx

RYN: Again, thank you. My internet is being stupid right now so I can’t type very much, but its good to know you’re there *hugs* I’ll probably post a very long entry in the next couple of days….I desperately need to get this out.xx

March 30, 2011

Wow! Congratulations, you look fantastic! xxxx

You look amazing! Congratulations on the payoff for all of your hard work. And yes, I think this opens opportunities for you — whether that be working in the fitness industry once the kiddies are are all in school during the day, or writing, or whatever! What a great way to improve your life overall.

March 30, 2011

OMG The difference is ridiculous!!! I agree with adjusting your goal. You’re gonna look fabulous, and you DONT EVEN HAVE THAT FAR TO GO!!!!!!

March 31, 2011

RYN – yeah, I do ignore the BMI, pretty much. I just mentioned it to give people an idea of how overweight I am. I am a bit chubby, but as long as I can fit into my size 14 pants (I think that’s a 10 in the US?) I’m happy. 😀

March 31, 2011

Gorgeous! Just gorgeous! congratulations on your amazing journey!

April 1, 2011

You look absolutely smashing Mikie!!!

April 2, 2011

I saw your note on BJ’s diary and want to tell you that you look great! Keep up the good work!

April 3, 2011

oh my gosh you look absolutely amazing! you have worked soooo hard and the results are incredible. seriously, good for you!!! 🙂

April 4, 2011

I am so so so proud of you! You did such a amazing job and are so inspiring! You look amazing and you can tell from your entries that you FEEL amazing. That is what matters the most 🙂 Good luck on the contest, I believe you can win it! Take care!

April 8, 2011

Wow! Congrats!

Random noter here. What you’ve done for yourself is very amazing and inspiring. I think you should definitely write a book about your experiences, and I think it’s awesome that they want you to teach other people. I need to find the motivation myself to join a gym and live a healthier lifestyle.

April 10, 2011

great job on the weight loss. I was actually working on that when I had got pregnant and had just met my first goal of being under 200 lbs so I know how hard it is but it looks like you re doing great! RYN: well they cant guarantee 100% that nothing will go wrong and I get that but the anesthesiologist pretty much told me i was gunna lose the baby and to prepare for it.

April 13, 2011

You are such an inspiration! You look AMAZING. Seriously, you have worked so hard and it has paid off! I am like, in awe, of your will power!

April 16, 2011

Great job!! Happy looks good on you!!!

May 3, 2011

Hey thanks for the post.. To be honest I didn’t know martin Luther king said it either.. One of my mates said it today and I thought it was really awesome and so I just posted it.. I didn’t have time to even quote my mate…

May 4, 2011

Hey thanks for the note on my cat but he is gone. Nearly took my eye when he bit my face so I got rid of him. ='[

May 11, 2011

Congratulations. Its been awhile since Ive read you. I use to read you over at JC’s