I Totally Disagree!

I do not support violence in any way. But what Will Smith did to Chris Rock at The Academy Awards was called for and understandable and I totally disagree with the Academy from banning him from attending any of the shows in any way, for the next 10 years.

Will Smith Reacts to His 10-Year Ban From Oscars After Chris Rock Slap – E! Online (eonline.com)

There have been occasions were Hosts/Presenters have made jokes at the expense of others, particularly actors. And yes I have laughed and will most likely continue to laugh, but when a joke is made at someone,  when it is related to a medical issue; something that is life threatening, I do find it rude and deserving of a retaliation.

Now if the Academy had passed on some form of punishment to Chris Rock as well, I would be more understanding.

As a wife; I know I would be proud of my husband for defending my honor.

I haven’t watched the Awards, but like many others have seen the clip of Chris Rock making the ‘comment’ and Will Smith slapping him. I think Chris Rock got off easy with just a slap, his comment to Jada was deserving of a KNOCKOUT!

What kind of message is The Academy putting out there? I get it NOT being okay to be violent on any platform and in any way, but is it okay to laugh at someone due to a medical condition? I bow down to Jada for being able to stand in public and displaying her strength through her struggles, and I applaud Will for defending his wife. I would rather have my children learn how to stand up to ‘BULLIES’ and not to laugh at someone due to their failures/struggles, as supposed to just joining in and laughing, at something that is wrong.

Log in to write a note
April 10, 2022

It was in bad taste, yes, but that is Chris Rock for ya.

April 10, 2022

I am sorry, but that is not acceptable. Joking about someone’s illness is not acceptable. I will say fine ban Will Smith, but Chris Rock should not be let off. I applaud Will Smith for defending his wife, I hope my husband would do the same.

April 11, 2022

I agree that what he said was very wrong, however I don’t like Will Smith’s reaction…it just made him look bad sadly.  I love Will Smith, though.

April 12, 2022

I also love Will Smith!!