Snake…

So yesterday I decided to prepare for the pending load shedding we were going to be having at 8pm. we have been having loads of loadshedding lately and it is getting so annoying

So I downloaded the whole “Surviving R. Kelly” documentary on Netflix.

I have only watched the 1st episode…got 7 more to go….

I was at first quite shocked to see that he had a brother who is in jail. Bruce Kelly…and with all the talk about him as a child I felt bad for Robert Kelly…I mean he used to lock himself up in the room and cry and not want to talk to anyone…and he used to be very shy and kept to himself…of course this is just according to his brothers.

And then when Carey Kelly spoke about how a family member sexually abused him and Robert, and the clinical psychologist explained how survivors of abuse tend to grow up wanting to have some kind of control and end up afflicting abuse on others….of course this is no valid explanation for what he did or for what any rapist/pedophile etc does. …I kinda figured I understood how he could be so messed up. But then I stopped and realized there is no excuse!

So many things about that 1 episode got to me though….

Aloevera

All the people that spoke, talk about events that happened before he rose to be the star that he is. They go far as the 70’s. I was just gobsmacked at how he rose to fame even though he had sexually abused women and children.

Aloevera

They talk about how many of the songs he wrote and sang were about his ill acts.

Street Explorer

Street Explorer

Street Explorer

Street Explorer

Street Explorer

and so so so so many more…

I cannot believe that he married a teenager. And they obviously had to have known it was wrong for her to have lied about her age on the marriage certificate and of course the marriage was annulled a few days later…but at what point did either of them think it was alright. She was 15 and he was in his late 20s (I think)

I wonder if he went through any psychiatric evaluation…I mean he still pleas innocent.

Dance Today ….

was how they all ignored the fact that he went to his old high school regularly. I am 35 years old and I recall going back to my old High School I think 3 times… and they were for actual events,

Black Pink Cursive

Cedarville Pnkfun1 Cursive

English Essay

But anyway…an old High School teacher of his mentions how she found it to be wrong that he would show up at the school and hang around with the kids…she says she once confronted him.

I dunno. Right now I am just gobsmacked at how they all mention things that they saw and they seem to have turned a blind eye. I mean his tour manager said he walked in on him in his home recording studio; feeling up a young girl who was naked. I mean come on!! And then one of his back up singers said while they were on a tour bus and his bedroom door opened and they saw him having sex with one of the girls who was 15.

So for 50+ years he was doing this. I am glad he is locked up, but I don’t think 30years is nearly enough….well I guess it might be enough is he gets to experience some of the pain and abuse he inflicted on innocent young girls and women.

 

Log in to write a note
July 6, 2022

Interesting…don’t know who he is so I googled him.

July 7, 2022

You didn’t know who R. Kelly was/is?

Please tell me after googling him it clicked and you recognized him. Okay in all fairness it is okay that you didn’t know who he was.