What is catastrophising?

It’s me.

Overthinking.

Stress.

Anxious feeling.

Racing thoughts.

Fear and anger.

Depression.

Pessimism.

Stuck in your head.

There’s finally a name for it all. Along with some other thing my psychiatrist is thinking.

I drove the boy back to school today so the 80 mile trip home alone didn’t help. I made the mistake of listening to 90s country music. I never really listened to the words. There was a song, “2 tear drops” that just about made me want to put my truck into a tree. Also a Diamond Rio song, “You’re gone” that made me hope that when I hit the tree the truck would explode…

Surprisingly though I’m home and somewhat centered. I’m not happy, nor am I content, but I’ve managed to learn how to numb myself and withdraw to quiet thoughts. Thing is, they just linger there waiting for me to let my guard down again.

Log in to write a note
March 20, 2023

A lot of what you listed I am too…especially over thinking and being anxious.  Anxiety is a scary thing when it’s really bad.

How was the trip taking your son back?  Did you talk much?  How is he doing in school?  Does he like it?

March 20, 2023

@happyathome he’s doing great in school. He actually passed out and slept most of the way, but that was OK, I usually say dumb things when I talk, so …