07/29/2013

This morning I called the number of the massage therapist I had been given. I could hear from her phone message that she is English but only from  the occasional word. Actually, I called her twice because after the first call I realized that I had forgotten to leave my name! I DID, however, leave my phone number both times and she did call me back. I have an appointment on Friday of this week. I will let you all know how it goes. I told her how old I was and she asked me could I manage stairs because, apparently she is at the top of "a lot" of stairs. I have no problem with stairs at this time in my life. In fact I try to take them when I can because there will undoubtedly come a time when I can’t!

I re potted a really nice plant that Jake gave me–I have no idea what it is but it looks like a green fountain–  and, so far, it seems to be happy. I was going to put the two ivy plants I bought in one new pot but I finished up putting them in a pot for each one. I have one more pot left and I may transplant the Christmas cactus "babies" that came from Fred’s huge one. which I left behind with our great neighbors in Vermont. The babies are in a little pot that that someone painted before they gave it to me. The cactus will grow better in a bigger pot so I might put it into the last pot I have. In the years I was with Fred I re potted the cactus three times into bigger pots and it grew to fill up the new space.

Physical therapy tomorrow. So far I am finding it easy to be conscientious about the exercising at home because the results are well worth it.

“That which we persist in doing becomes easier. It is not that the task itself has become easier, but that our ability to perform it has improved.” — Ralph Waldo Emerson

 

Goals: Get groceries this week

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note

I have a spider plant that is over two decades old that keeps having babies that I re-pot as well. That is, if I can get to them before the two cats nibble the new shoots down to the quick.

July 29, 2013

I have a peace lily from Eltons funeral that I want to put into a nicer pot. Just haven’t really found anything I like yet. Glad you have a message scheduled! Hugs,M

July 29, 2013

Christmas cacti have babies? Mine never has. I transplanted it to a bigger pot this year and it hasn’t died yet, so I count that as a big victory!

You’re doing great if you stiill find stair climbing okay.

July 30, 2013

it is easy to do the p/t exercises at home cause the results are so worth it. i’m gonna repot an ivy that looks like it’s gonna die. i have no idea what’s wrong with it but it looks awful… pale green and yellowing and then losing leaves. maybe, hopefully all it needs is a bigger pot. i’m thinking of getting a massage one day at p/t. i think it will feel really good as long as they only do my neck, shoulders and upper back. take care,

July 30, 2013

You just reminded me that I could re-pot my Christmas cactus! I don’t think it would mind having more room! I hope your new massage therapist is just as good as the one you had in Vermont. :o) !! hugs, Nicky