Again, More PT Thoughts

  • The problem with going to physical therapy in the afternoon is that I am already heading into fatigue and PT exacerbates it. It was a good session today partly because Jill is very into pointing out every little improvement. She is very encouraging. I have one more session this week on Thursday, then two more the week after and finally four weeks where I only go once a week…
  • I had plans to go from PT to the grocery store and get more salad stuff but I don’t know why I make plans like this because PT always leaves me tired. It was worse today because I didn’t eat before I left home which meant when I got back home I was very hungry. This meant I ate too much and too quickly.
  • I found a book at Amazon I just had to get. It shows pictures of a person doing a particular exercise and then right beside it is a figure in the same pose but showing the muscles being used. This kind of thing fascinates me. I am always trying to figure out which muscles are being used when I do the exercises. Because of the weakness in my left hip and leg, I find i have been inadvertently using the "wrong" muscles. For example, I use my back muscles for things for which it was never designed and because of this I have had quite severe pain there. Now I am aware of this and also because my left hip and leg are much stronger, my back pain has almost completely gone.
  • I didn’t sleep well last night because I stayed up too late so I intend to be turning off the light by 11 pm tonight  {which is a lot better than 4 am which is when it went off this morning.} This would be no problem if I could sleep late, but my eyes pop open at 7-ish and my brain slots into gear…
  • I bought two little pots of English ivy a couple of days ago and I have them in a container by the window. As soon as the tendrils reach out towards the light, I rotate the pots and over the next few days, I watch the tendrils move around to the new light source.
  • I just realize I haven’t checked my mailbox today…
  • It is 9:30 so I am off to bed to read a while.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note

I went to bed shortly before you did- 3:30am. Of course, that is 2:30 your time. I LOVE English Ivy. So pretty. Hugs,M

I am more tired in the afternoon. Exercise in the morning is always a better choice for me. I feel like I never get enough sleep for the most part.

July 15, 2013

That’s interesting about the book. I’m always trying to figure out why my clients are in pain and how to fix it.

July 15, 2013

I hear you about the staying up too late. I do the same thing whilst reading in bed, and before I know it, the sun is coming up…

July 15, 2013

I hear you about the staying up too late. I do the same thing whilst reading in bed, and before I know it, the sun is coming up…

July 16, 2013

Wow! You stayed up ’til 4 a.m.?! It has been a long time since I did that! What you wrote about people using the wrong muscles to do things got me to thinking about whether I might do that! hugs, Nicky

July 16, 2013

i have an ivy plant and i have to turn it every few days. i’m sleeping a bit better since i started sleeping in my bed again. i wonder if i’m using my hip muscles and not my quads when i do certain exercises. take care,

I admire the fact that you are constantly working to improve yourself! Physically, mentally AND artistically!