NO Celery, PT and Insurance

  • The most exciting thing I did yesterday was that I went to two stores! I went first to the grocery store and, yes, I know you remember I went a week ago! I am trying to go once a week with a list so I don’t have twenty bags to get from the back of my car into the kitchen. At the top of this list was CELERY!!!! Yes, in capitals and with many exclamation points. So, you know what I forgot, right? {This probably had something to do with the fact that I left the list in the car! } I miss Fred for many reasons and not the least is that the grocery lists he made for me always started at fruit and veg at the front of the store and went all round the store in order. The only ones he got wrong were jams and jellies. They got moved from the aisle where they were when he was doing the shopping and put with the bread and peanut butters but I had no problem with that because to me it is logical to find them beside the bread!
  • The other store I went to was the drug store which, unlike the drug store I patronized in Vermont, is not "just up the road" and within in walking distance. I have got my medication dates ordered that I can buy three months of all medications in one fell swoop. In terms of money, it is a bit of a shock to have to cough up over $50, but it does cover everything I take for three months. Well, except for the prescription eye drops for which the insurance people insist I get only one month’s supply at a time! There is probably some secret and forbidden use of this eye drop stuff stuff of which I know nothing.
  • When I moved here from Vermont, I had to reapply for supplemental insurance on top of the Medicare because the supplemental insurance I had didn’t cover the area in which I was now living. Well, I did all this stuff by phone and the young lady* who was doing this remarked casually that what I would be paying now would be less than what I was paying in Vermont. I said, "Less is always good!" but didn’t ask how much less. You can imagine my surprise when it turned out that what I now pay is $15 dollars a month To put this in context, in Vermont I had very little change from $70 per month….
  • This morning before I got up I did the exercises I can do lying down. Then I got up, went to the bathroom, came back and did three more different exercises standing up. I am still not taking for granted the fact that I can stand in the kitchen 20 minutes before having to sit down. While I am on the subject of PT, Jill had me lying on my stomach and moving my leg back from the knee towards my butt. Well, I could move the right leg with no problem but when it came to the left, the weak one, it was as if I had very little control of it! It was wobbling around and felt weird, actually. Eventually and with a lot of mental effort, I got it doing what I wanted it to be doing… What was also interesting was that when I did that this morning, although I still had to concentrate, I got it under control much more easily than the first time.

* Because I am Officially Old, I find myself referring to most people I talk to on the phone as "young lady" or "young man!"

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note

I dislike grocery shopping, too. It takes forever and I resent the time.

BJ.
July 14, 2013

I always make my grocery list like Fred did, always have, saves a lot of time. I’m glad you are paying a lot less for your supplemental. Mine is $172 a month. Texas is expensive! That is wonderful that PT is helping so much. I did great with my PT when I had my knee replacement but you are showing me that as we get older it can also help with daily living. I am do happy that you can stand longer when in the kitchen. I have some medical issues I need to address but can’t till my son can be here as I have no one to take me to the hospital or things like that. Not major but day surgery but they won’t let you drive home. I can manage and take care of myself pretty good but they do like you to have a relative and one is in Australia and the other is working from home which is where ever he is in his RV which has been Colorado this summer. He has lots of festivals and concerts planned and tickets bought and I want him to live his life but life sure sucks when you are single and have no family or even friends that can help out. I’m whining so I’ll shut up now. 🙂

July 14, 2013

repitition makes the muscle memory much better. Sounds like a pain having to re-train those muscles. I’d better make sure I get to the gym tomorrow and remind my muscles what they’re supposed to do!

I too make my list like Fred. Don’t know what I’ll do when I move and start out at a new store. I know that Wegmans is HUGE and will most likely take me awhile to learn. UGH! So glad your PT seems to be helping!!!! Hugs,M

Your supplemental insurance is at bargain basement prices. We should move!

July 14, 2013

starting next month my supplemental is gonna be $175, but, it covers everything that medicare doesn’t with no copays nor any deductible. and with this time i spent in the hospital and the surgery i am glad i have it. two days in the hospital cost over $5500! don’t want to have to pay a deductible or 20%. i know market basket like the back of my hand. i really don’t like going to the grocery store.but, if i want to eat…. i go once a week so i don’t have mountains of bags. it’s just easier to go once a week. take care,

July 14, 2013

I’m glad you’ve been successful in your exercises.

July 14, 2013

Wow, that’s great that you save soooo much more with your new supplemental insurance! One time I went shopping to buy the stuff to make stuffed peppers, and I forgot to buy peppers! hugs, Nicky